This is the "Home" page of the "University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year  

This guide outlines the library resources and services available to students taking courses through the University of Otago Language Centre or Foundation Year
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

This Guide:

Hello and welcome to your guide to using the University of Otago Library.

The University of Otago Library is actually made up of seven libraries on  the Dunedin Campus, plus a campus library in Invercargill, Wellington and Christchurch.

If you need any assistance, please contact your Librarians (Lisa or Paula).

For information about using the Library, open the Library Info tab

Navigate through this guide using the tabs above.

Library Search l Ketu - the Library's new search system

If you are a returning student, you may have noticed that the LIbrary has a new search system: Library Search l Ketu. The links below are to video tutorials for using Library Search to find items in the collection, renew items and place requests of items.


Libraries on Dunedin campus

There are seven Dunedin campus libraries and you can use ANY of them, irrespective of what papers you are taking. Each Library offers numerous different spaces for group or individual study, and holds resources for specific subject areas.

Library opening hours

Sayers Building | Otago University Medical Library

Medical Library

Located in the Sayers Building opposite the Hospital, this Library mainly serves both the Health Sciences Division and the Southern DHB. 

Sayers Building | Otago University Medical Library

Dental Library

Located in the Dental School, this Library support programmes & papers in Dentistry and Oral Health.

Science Library 

This Library is located in the Science III building along with with Maths & Physics, just next to the St David St Lecture Theatre. It serves the Sciences Division, Otago School of Medical Sciences and Health Science First Year papers. 


Central Library

Located in the Information Services Building building on the corner of Albany & Cumberland Sts, this Library supports papers & programmes in Commerce & Humanities. 


The Robertson Library

Located on Union St East, this Library supports programmes & papers in Education and for Otago Polytechnic. 

Polytech students should use the Polytech Library website to access Library services & resources. 


Law Library

Located on the 8th floor of the Richardson building in the centre of campus, the Sir Robert Stout Law Library holds resources for Law Faculty. 


Hocken Collections

Located on Anzac Ave, the Hocken Collections is a research library, gallery & archive that serves both the University and the public. It operates differently than other Dunedin Campus Libraries, just ask the staff to explain how to use the resources and study spaces.



Your Librarians:

Foundation Year

Paula Whitelock

Contact Info:

Robertson Library

Union Street East



Langauge Centre

Lisa Chisholm

Contact Info:

Robertson Library

Union Street East



Loading  Loading...