LibGuides: Theology: Home

New Theology & Religion Books

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Library 101 workshops

LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.

Looking for Academic Literature?

Below are the four best places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the tabs along the top for even more options.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This database combines the indexing from ATLA Religion Database with access to ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals.
Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new window Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracting, as well as some full-text coverage, of journals on religious history, biblical studies, epistemology, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.

Google Like a Pro

Did you know that there are over 40 search operators that you can use to search Google more effectively, many of which can be used in Scholar too? Here are the top five that I use consistently, plus a Handout that we produced for a workshop for postgrads this year.

Google Like a Pro

Amanda Hutchinson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Robertson Library

Union Street East

Ph: 479 7404

Subjects: Language Centre: Te Puna o te Ki, Media, Film and Communication, Religious Studies, Theology

Māori Theological Scholarship

NGĀ TUHINGA WHAKAPONO O NGĀ TANGATA MĀORI MĀORI THEOLOGICAL SCHOLARSHIP WAITANGI EDITION Te tuaono o Hui-tanguru 2023 6 February
This is the fourth edition of publications by Māori on the subject of theology, released as part of Waitangi celebrations for 2023. The purpose of this resource is to gather into one document published material on the subject of theology by Māori.

This is an EXCELLENT resource!

Libraries you can sign up to use print resources

New Zealand & Australia

If you live in one of the main centres around New Zealand you may use the local University Library to borrow books.
You will need proof of your enrolment at the University of Otago, and address details to join.

The New Zealand Libraries which have agreed to share their collections are:

This agreement also applies to many Australian University Libraries, so if you are living in Australia, check this link to see what is available in your area. More information here.