LibGuides: Occupational Health & Safety: Journals & Databases

Key biomedical subject headings databases

These databases can use Subject Headings (e.g. MeSH, Emtree) to assist your searching. They can also be searched with keywords. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)

Keyword-only Citation databases

These databases can only be searched using keywords (author words).

If you find a great article on your topic, you can use these citation databases to track down articles that cite that particular article. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)

Database Tutorials

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.

Help with Google Scholar

Remember to always access Google Scholar through the Library webpage - that way you are recognised as a student from the University of Otago and you are given access to all our subscriptions.

Follow the [PDF] link or Otago Article Link on the right-hand side to get the full text of the article.

Help with PubMed

Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below:

PubMed Online Training
Tutorials from the U.S. National Library of Medicine

PubMed Guide
A quick and easy guide to getting the most out of your PubMed searches

Other databases for Hazard Assessment and Management

Search a range of article databases to find articles on a topic, for example

Toxnet This link opens in a new window
Information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.

SciFinder Scholar
Group of databases for chemistry information from the American Chemical Society, also called CAS. Search for literature references, substances, reactions, patents, and company information. Includes Medline records. First-time users of SciFinder Scholar must register. The University has 5 licenses to SciFinder Scholar. If all are in use at one time, you will have to try again later to access this database.

Get information using your mobile device

Have you got a smart phone or tablet?

Did you know that many of our key databases are also available via mobile? When you look up the database in the Health Sciences database list or the Database list and it has this icon: : then it's available for iPhone /iPod or iPad or Android.