Skip to Main Content

Occupational Health & Safety: Books

Online Hazard e-Books

The Library's collection of e-books is growing all the time.

Benefits of e-books include:

Instant/anytime access
They can be downloaded (for a specified period of time) or read online
The entire text is serachable and 'sticky notes' can be added
A percentage of the publication can be printed/saved
The e-book URL is permanent so you go back to a publication instantly

These Hazard Assessment & Management books are online:

Occupational and Environmental Health by Barry S. Levy
ISBN: 9780199750061
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Occupational Health by Tar-Ching Aw; Kerry Gardiner; J. M. Harrington; Tar-Ching Aw
ISBN: 9780470757741
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Environmental Hazard and Human Health Risk Calculations by Louis Theodore
ISBN: 9781439868881
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Essential Medical Statistics by Betty Kirkwood; Jonathan Sterne
ISBN: 9781444392845
Publication Date: 2010-10-05

Print Hazard Books

These Encyclopedias and Handbooks are a great starting point for your research!

Occupational and Environmental Health by Barry S. Levy; David H. Wegman; Sherry L. Baron; Rosemary K. Sokas
Call Number: WA 440 OC68 2011
ISBN: 9780195397888
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
CURRENT Occupational and Environmental Medicine (5th edition) by Joseph LaDou; Robert Harrison
Call Number: WA 400 CZ38 2014
ISBN: 9780071808156
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Bioterrorism and Public Health by John G. Bartlett; Tara O'Toole (Editor); Thomas V. Inglesby (Editor); Michael Mair (Editor)
Call Number: WA 295.BP68
ISBN: 1563634279
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Managing Major Hazards by Andrew Hopkins
Call Number: WB 105.HU65
ISBN: 1864489405
Publication Date: 1999-07-01

Other places to find books

Try searching:

Library Search | Ketu
Search to find all books (including E-books) held by the University of Otago Library
Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to over 700 texts in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Te Puna - National Bibliographic Database
Search to find books held in libraries around New Zealand
Special Collections - Medical Rare Books
The Monro Collection comprises manuscripts and books amassed by the Monro family: Alexander (father; primus), Alexander (son; secundus); and Alexander (grandson; tertius). These include a second edition of Vesalius: Humani Corporiis Fabrica.