LibGuides: Accountancy & Finance: Data & Statistics

New Zealand Statistics

Sources of New Zealand statistics include:

Figure.nz
"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statisitcs illustrated with infographics.
NZStats - Data for Business
- Try the Market Mapper tool to find out where your customers are. By selecting variables such as age, income, and family type, you can find the areas where most of your customers live.
- Try QuickStats about a place for more information on customers by area.
- Find industry data
- Find import/export data
Industry Benchmarks (IRD)
The tool:
- provides data on the financial performance of small and medium enterprises (SMEs) grouped by the Australia and NZ Industrial Standard Classification (ANZSIC) categories
- includes performance benchmarks represented by key financial ratios such as: gross profit ratio; stock turnover ratio; salaries and wages to turnover ratio; return on total assets; return on equity; current ratio; quick ratio; and liability structure
is updated annually and data is currently available for the 2010, 2011 and 2012 financial years
- makes data available for re-use in Excel and HTML formats.
Statistics New Zealand
Statistics groups include Business, Industry Sector, Economic Indicators
NZ.Stat
View and customise large datasets.
New Zealand official year-book
Central Library holds paper copies of 1892-2010.
New Zealand digitised yearbooks
1893 - 2012

Infoshare This link opens in a new window
Click an finance-related subject category
Statistics for Universities This link opens in a new window
NZ universities' research staff and student access to specialised statistical products and data packages

Capital IQ Database
Log in for access to broad financial data and research tools such as Credit Analytics, LCD, Research Online, and more. Note: First-time users must register for access by clicking on the New User link on the login page and entering their @otago.ac.nz email address.

Search the Library Search | Ketu, Article Databases, and the internet for information about companies.

For example:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Click the Companies/Markets tab, to search company details,
from 1980.
- 5 user licences
NZX Company Research This link opens in a new window
New Zealand company information. Provides current and historical analysis of company data including annual report and financial data, from 1999.

New Zealand Companies Office
FREE to search company information
Audit Analytics
Contains detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms.
Bloomberg
Provides both real-time and archived financial and market data, pricing, trading, news and communication tools in a single, integrated package.
To access this database, contact the Accountancy & Finance Department
Datastream
Enables times series analysis across a broad range of financial instruments. Contains international data.
CRSP - US Stock Database
Contains stock history back to 1925 with daily and monthly data on all listed NYSE, AMEX, NYSE Amex US, NASDAQ, and NYSE ARCA common stocks along with basic market indices.
To access this database, go to either the Accountancy & Finance Department in the Commerce Building or the Central Library's PC ERAUser01
CRSP / Compustat Merged Database (CCM)
Access via CRSPSift interface. Pdf userguide available. Database provides concurrent database access to CRSP's stock data and Compustat's fundamental data for active and inactive companies. Data is available from 1925.
WorldBox New Zealand (LexisNexis)
Worldbox Business Intelligence is an independent service, providing online company credit reports, company profiles, company ownership and management reports, legal status and history details as well as financial and other business information on over 50 million companies worldwide, covering all emerging and major markets.
Link is via Library Search Ketu.

Search the internet for information on share prices and stock exchanges.

For example:

Include:

International Financial Statistics Online (via IMF)
Source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation. For example data on: exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions and government and national accounts

OECD Main Economic Indicators This link opens in a new window
Comparative statistics providing an overview of recent international economic developments.
Includes:
- wide range of short-term economic indicators for the OECD member countries
- 5 area totals
- data for selected non-member countries
World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognised international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.

National statistical agencies from around the world
Links listed on the United States Department of Labour, Bureau of Labor Statistics webpage.

World Bank International Debt Statistics (IDS) This link opens in a new window
International Debt Statistics (IDS) - formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF) - provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

Search the internet for currency converters.

For example:

OANDA - Currency Tools
Includes a currence converter, an historical currency converter, and foreign exchange analysis.