Skip to main content

Pharmacy: Multimedia

To find multimedia material using Library Search

You can use Library Search to search for multimedia including images, photographs, video, audio and musical recordings. Just enter your topic into the search box:

Use the Content Type limiter to narrow your search results to multimedia content types e.g Video Recordings (you may have to scroll)

Searching for AV material in the Library Catalogue

  • You can use the Library Search | Ketu to search for feature films, TV series and documentaries on DVD and Video (remember to use the DVD/Videos limit)
  • You must have your student ID with you to borrow DVDs/Videos/CDs

eTV

eTV provides FREE access to recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos for University of Otago staff and students.

Note that eTV content cannot be watched on computers on the Otago Student network i.e..you may need to watch content off-campus.  It is recommended that eTV is accessed using Firefox

Go to eTV

If you have not registered to use eTV, this video provides instructions on how to go about it.

Other multimedia databases

Looking for a documentary, image, sound file, chart etc?  Then try one of the following:

Streaming video collections

These are just some of the many video streaming collections available online.

To find additional video online, try searching one of the many video search engines listed on this Comprehensive Search Engine List.

Cover Art

BBC Archive

Take a trip through the past with the BBC archives.
Cover Art
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading.
Cover Art
Watch documentary films, movies, series and episodes online for free.
 
Cover Art
Includes many University channels, documentaries and playlists 

Search academic video online (on campus)

Alexander Street Press: VAST:Academic Video Online

Search thousands of award-winning films from dozens of producers and distributors
*******************************************************************

Top movies for learning about public health

"These movies were identified through a systematic selection process that considered public health issues and also entertainment value."

Ovid databases

Ovid button

Ovid has now introduced multimedia functionality to the OvidSP database platform. Videos and images from a range of books and Lippincott Williams & Wilkins journals are now available for searching together with Ovid databases.

  • Include Multimedia Checkbox - allows you to choose whether or not to include Multimedia as part of your search (but not at the same time as Map Term to Subject Heading)

  • Removal of Thumbnails from Initial Search- you will no longer see thumbnails within your initial search results, but will have easy access to all results by clicking on the Multimedia results banner
  • Improved View By Results Toggle - shows you how many Text and Multimedia search results get returned

Medical Images

Clinical Key and Ovid and major sources of images, however some of the following sources provide access to copyright free or CC licenced images.

Anatomy & Physiology resources

The Library has access to some online Anatomy and Physiology resources

   

Anatomy TV image

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press Health Collection

This collection defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.

Go to Health Collections on Alexander Street Press

Kanopy

Kanopy Videos image

A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. The Speaking from Experience series - patients and carers talking about particular conditions - is available through this service. 

Go to Kanopy

AttitudeLive

AttitudeLive provides a collection of documentaries about people living with disability. The website also provides a collection of resources, a directory of relevant NZ organisations, a blog and discussion forum. You can watch the shows on the AttitudeLive website, or via TVNZOnDemand.