The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database. The University Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, but we recommend the ones listed below as a starting point for students and researchers. Some provide only citations for articles, so look for the Article Link button, or try one of the methods described to access a copy.
These databases can use Subject Headings (e.g. MeSH, Emtree) to assist your searching. They can also be searched with keywords. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)
These databases can only be searched using keywords (author words).
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use these citation databases to track down articles that cite that particular article. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)
This is a list of key drugs/pharmaceutical resources available through the University. There is a separate Pharmacy subject guide with a lot more information relating to the study of Pharmacy at the University, and Prescribing information in the EBP Useful sites pages of this guide.
See the box below for some key resources for pharmaceuticals.
A range of databases to find quality drug information:
Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below:
Article Link links article databases to the Library's e-journal collections. It tells you whether (and where) the full-text of an article is available.
You may see Article Link represented as: 
or Otago Article Link.
These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.
These are just some key databases relevant to searching for clinical information. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)
UpToDate
The University does not subscribe to UpToDate. Trainee Interns (6th year medical students) will be able to access UpToDate through the hospital network.
If you need an item that is not available via a database that the University of Otago subscribes to, or in print form in the library, request a free copy using the Interloan service: