Key Databases for Sociology
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research with a focus on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology. This database includes bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
A multidisciplinary collection providing access to unique content from journals, monographs, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. The broad subject coverage includes Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences
Social Sciences Database (ProQuest)
A database that provides full-text access to a variety of scientific journals. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Communication science, Demography, Economics, Human services, Political science, Policy studies, Psychology, and Sociology.
Social Theory (Alexander Street)
The database includes content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Article link provides access to library databases and full-text of many articles.
Multidisciplinary Databases for Sociology
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This database provides coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage)
Provides indexing/abstracting for journals and reference sources with many articles available in full-text. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Informit Complete
Provides access to core research from Australia, New Zealand, and the wider Asia Pacific region. Key subject areas include: health, engineering, business, education, law, humanities and social sciences.
ProjectMUSE
Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals with over 120 publishers currently participating.
ProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion
ScienceDirect
Access full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering. Discover our large collection of Social Sciences and Humanities journals and books, highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. The database includes more than 5,000 international publishers.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
A collaborative database of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN includes an Abstract Database containing scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing full-text documents.
Trove
A discovery service focused on Australia, Australians, and items found in Australian collecting institutions. It provides a single point of access to resources currently discoverable via the National Library of Australia's multiple discovery services, and to digitised material freely available online anywhere in the world.
These databases are highly recommended for finding Sociology related articles. If your research has a New Zealand focus, also check out the NZ Specific Databases tab.
IndexNZAlso see:
Sites: a journal of social anthropology and cultural studies
Sites seeks multidisciplinary perspectives on the study of societies and cultures of the wider Pacific region. We welcome work from authors in the fields of anthropology, culture studies, indigenous studies, Maori studies, sociology, history, gender, linguistics, and ethnomusicology.
These multidisciplinary databases index citations between publications, allowing the user to easily establish connections between articles and ideas.
More databases can be found in the Psychology Subject Guide
More databases are listed in the Education Subject Guide
More databases are listed in the Gender Studies Guide
Many databases with sociology content will also be useful for criminology research. However you may also find the following specialist databases useful.
|
Need Help? This page lists key databases and journals you can use for finding resources for your assignments. Use Keyword searches to find articles on your topic. |
If you need help with using these resources please contact your Subject Librarian |
|
Alternatively you can use the Self Help guide for tips on searching and evaluating
|
You can also look at the Ask Library FAQ's or use LibChat to ask library staff for help
|
Article Link connects article databases to the Library's e-journal collections. It tells you whether (and where) the full-text of an article is available.
You may see Article Link represented as:
or Otago Article Link
If you see Article Link, click on it and you will automatically be taken to the full-text (via Library Search | Ketu).
 |
Have you found a book, book chapter, journal article etc but it is not available in the hardcopy or electronic collection? Then you can use the Interloan service. The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
|
Most research databases (e.g. ProQuest Central, Science Direct and Scopus) allow you to create alerts that will push information to you based on a search you've set up previously. This could be a search for relevant terms/keywords, an author name or a journal specialising in your research area.
 |
