Skip to main content

German: Newspapers

Featured Newspaper Database

ProQuest

Newspapers

Newspapers

You can use Library Search | Ketu to check if we hold a particular newspaper.  

Search for the "Title of the newspaper" (within quotation marks).

 
The newspaper may be held in print, online, or on microfilm.  
 
To check if we have access to an electronic copy of a particular newspaper, search the E-Journal list for the newspaper title.

The future is now!

Newspaper Collections (browse geographically, or chronologically)

Explore the tabs (above) to find newspapers from a  specific place or time period, or start with these recommended databases:

 Highly Recommended Library Databases providing access to Newspapers


Highly Recommended Websites providing access to Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to Asian News and Newspapers
Free Websites providing access to Asian News and Newspapers

Free Websites providing access to News for: China

Free Websites providing access to News for: Hong Kong

 

Free Websites providing access to News for: Japan
Free Websites providing access to News for: Singapore and Malaya

Library Databases providing access to Australian Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to Australian Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe


Free Websites providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe


Library Databases providing access to French News and Newspapers

Free Websites providing access to French News and Newspapers


  • Radio France - Listen live or download podcasts from the seven French national stations.
  • Le Figaro - The oldest of France's daily newspapers. Considered by many to represent a conservative position.
  • Liberation - Founded in 1973 by Jean Paul Sartre and other leftists, this daily newspaper has moved to a more centrist position since its founding.
  • Le Monde - Founded in 1944, Le Monde represents the "establishment" position. It is the most widely-read French daily newspaper, outside of France.
  • France24 - continuous news, debates, special interest. View and read in French
  • France 2 - Daily news and more from this French T.V. company
  • Photo - A monthly French photo magazine.
  • La Recherche - France's most well-known monthly science magazine.
  • La Revue du Spectacle - French theatre, humour and song.
  • TF1Online - Daily news and more from this French T.V. company.
  • French Newspapers - Link to latest news sources from papers and TV.
  • Google Actualité - 500 sources d'information mises à jour en continu.
Library Databases providing access to German News and Newspapers

Free Websites providing access to German News and Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to New Zealand Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to New Zealand Newspapers


New Zealand Newspaper Indexes


These indexes are very useful for finding newspaper articles within NZ Newspapers. The article may not be available online, but you can use the reference and source information to track down a copy of the original article. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings

Library Databases providing access to Irish Newspapers

Free Websites providing access to Irish Newspapers

Newspapers for the Irish Living Abroad

Current

Historic

  • Irish Canadian - Jan 21, 1863 - Dec 29, 1892. This weekly was founded by Patrick Boyle, to demand equal rights and opportunities for Irish Catholics. It also supported protective tariffs and Irish Home Rule.
  • Irish Sentinal - Feb 7, 1872 - Jul 18, 1872. Newspaper for Quebec’s Irish Catholics.
  • Irish Vindicator - Dec 16, 1823 - Dec 30, 1831. A newspaper based in Montreal aimed at the immigrant Irish community.
  • New Era - May 25, 1857 - May 13, 1858. Irish nationalist newspaper started by Thomas D'Arcy McGee in Montreal in 1857.
Irish Newspaper Indexes

  • Belfast Newsletter Index - Index for this Irish newspaper that began publication in Belfast in 1737 and was published thrice-weekly during the 18th century, in issues of four pages each. During its time, the Newsletter was seldom equalled in the breadth and quality of its coverage of local and international events.
  • Irish Newspaper Archive - Free to search. Although Otago does do not have a subscription to this database, you can request full-text copies of specific newspaper articles for free through the Library's Get It Interloan Service.
Library Databases providing access to Scottish Newspapers

Free Websites providing access to Scottish Newspapers

Scottish Newspaper Index

This index is very useful for finding newspaper articles within old Scottish Newspapers. The article may not be available here at Otago, but you can use the reference to request a free copy through the Get It Interloan Service (use the 'Create Request' option).

  • Am Baile Searchable Newspaper Index -  A searchable database of stories and articles carried in the newspapers of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The database contains a short summary of each article and a reference to the issue in which the article was published. The newspapers available for searching are:  The Inverness Journal (1807 - 1849), The Inverness Journal (1807 - 1849), The Inverness Advertiser (1849 - 1885), Scottish Highlander (1885 - 1898), Inverness Courier (1879, 1898 - 1901, 1920-1939), John O'Groat Journal (1836 - 1887), Gairm (1952 - 2002).

Library Databases providing access to Spanish News and Newspapers
Free Websites providing access to Spanish News and Newspapers

  • Iberian Newspapers Link to latest Spanish news sources from newspapers, magazines and TV.

Library Databases providing access to American Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to American Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to 17th Century Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to 17th Century Newspapers

Library Databases providing access to 18th Century Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to 18th Century Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to 19th Century Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to 19th Century Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to 20th Century Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to 20th Century Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to 21st Century Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to 21st Century Newspapers


Library Databases providing access to Current Newspapers


Free Websites providing access to Current Newspapers


Loading