Skip to main content

Surveying: Journals & Databases

Library Search

Use Library Search | Ketu to find research articles across many databases.

Sign In first for best results!

Search for topic words or the "Title of the Article" (within quotation marks). E.g.:  

Holmes, K. W., Chadwick, O. A., & Kyriakidis, P. C. (2000). Error in a USGS 30-meter digital elevation model and its impact on terrain modeling. Journal of Hydrology, 233(1-4), 154-173. doi: 10.1016/s0022-1694(00)00229-8

Or,

Search the title (e.g. Journal of Hydrology) in the Library Catalogue, limited to Journals, to see if the Library holds the volume (e.g.233) and issue (e.g. 1-4) the article was published in. Choose Get It for paper copies or View It for online access.

Databases - General Information

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a database.

Otago University subscribes to hundreds of databases, but the ones to the right are a good start for physics students and researchers. Thousands of journals are indexed on these databases, and they contain millions of indexed articles. See the suggested guides under each recommended database, or contact your subject librarian for help. 

Databases often give access to full text content, but the amount of full text content available can vary. Other databases just have bibliographic information like the title, author(s), journal of publication (with the volume, issue and page numbers), and year of publication.

You can search for the full text of an article, even if it is not available on the database you are searching, by using the 'Article Link' tool. See the 'Article Link' box below to find out more.

If 'Article Link' does not find a full text version of the article you are after you can still get it through the library's interloans service. See the 'Get It Interloan' box at the bottom of this page for details.

 

What is Article Link?

Article Link helps you access fulltext research articles in databases that the University of Otago Library subscribes to, and Google Scholar. 

You may see Article Link represented as:             

            or  Article Link

If you can't find a cited article...

Submit a request to our:

Library users can search for items then create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Article requests are free.

Databases that will to help you find articles for Physical Geography

Use keyword searches to find articles on your research topic with these great databases! 

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the   Article Link button to check availability.

These databases cover journals from several disciplines, including English Literature.

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the   Article Link button to check availability.

Loading

Survey Quarterly

Survey Quarterly is a journal published quarterly by the Institute of Surveyors in March, June, September and December. It aims to inform members of aspects of interest and also to be of interest to members of the public and allied professions interested in surveyors' work and activities. Survey Quarterly is is distributed free to members and available by subscriptions from others. Survey Quarterly is available online through the National Library of New Zealand.