Skip to main content

Music: NZ Music

NZ music books

A sample of the music books at Hocken Collections.

Dunedin music

Dunedin Music at Hocken Collections covers all genres, from Western Art Music to modern rock and pop sounds.

Maori and Pacific music

The Maori and Pacific music at Hocken Collections encompass recordings of traditional and modern styles of indigenous music, as well as texts discussing these genres of music.

Music photographs

Dozens of photos relating to music in Hocken Collections have been digitised, and are on the Snapshop site. These are historical photos, and copies can be ordered online.

Music recordings

Hocken Collections provides access to a large range of NZ music recordings. Check the Library Catalogue for our materials, or the Hocken music resources guide for more information.

Dunedin Sound

Hocken Collections has substantial holdings of recordings, publications, and posters relating to the Dunedin Sound. Check Library Search | Ketu for published holdings, or come and talk to Library staff to get more information on the poster collection.

Music journals

Music archives

Search music-related archives at Hocken Collections through the Hakena catalogue. For further information, please ask Hocken staff.

Sheet music

All hail! Zealandia! (national song) : dedicated by permission to Sir Julius Vogel, K.C.M.G., M.H.R., &c.

R.P. Crosbie, 1885. New Zealand's alternative national anthem, and one of the rarest pieces of sheet music in Hocken Collections.

Posters

The New Zealand music posters at Hocken Collections span all genres. They include album release, gig and performance posters, relating to music events locally and nationally, and there are collections within collections; these are not catalogued.

Please consult Hocken staff to view posters.

Subject Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka

Alexander Ritchie
Contact:
Robertson Library
135 Union St East
DUNEDIN | ŌTEPOTI 9054
+64 3 479 7827
Social:Twitter Page

Hocken Music/AV Liaison Librarian

Amanda Mills
Hocken Collections
Cnr Anzac Ave and Parry St
Phone or email me for an appointment

Recording labels

Copyright

Understanding copyright is extremely important when dealing with music and recorded works. If copyright is breached, you could be liable for prosecution under the Copyright Act of 1994. Users of this material need to understand copyright for:

The Creative Commons website gives information on material that is free to use and share.