LibGuides: Philosophy: Journals & Databases

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database. I recommend the ones listed below for Philosophy.

If the full-text of an article is not available within the database, look for the Article Link button, or follow the instructions in the boxes on the right.

Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from more than 6,000 peer reviewed journals. Also indexes more than 12,000 publications.
Current Contents Connect (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, current awareness database of articles as they are published. Provides access to the table of contents and bibliographic data from 8000+ leading scholarly research journals and books Includes the following subsets, each of which may be searched individually.
Historical Abstracts (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracting for 2,000+ international historical journals. A useful feature is the ability to limit your search to articles covering a particular historical period.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). HA is the leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals. Researchers in history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, gender studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, business, education, music, art and law will find HA indispensable.
Humanities International Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes full-text for more than 1030 journals and all data from the Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a range of subjects, including over 245 history journals (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years).
Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection This link opens in a new window
The PAO Foundation Collection is an archive of 215 digitised academic journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from first issue to the end of 2000, or final issue (whichever is first).
Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window
PIO is an international index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1665. Every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers, including over 60 History Journals.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text periodicals from a broad general reference database. Search from a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting database, with some full-text coverage, of journals on religious history, biblical studies, epistemology, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley-Blackwell is one of the most successful global publishers of Philosophy, offering a varied and impressive list of books and journals covering the breadth of the discipline.

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g. Priest, G. "Hopes fade for saving truth." Philosophy 85, no.1 (2010): 109-140.

There are 4 easy ways to find a copy. These are listed below.

You can use Library Search | Ketu to find an article from a citation.

Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks).

e.g. "Hopes fade for saving truth"

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:

Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks), e.g. "Hopes fade for saving truth"
Follow the Otago Article Link links in your results list
Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.

Google Scholar screenshot

Google Scholar Tips & Tricks [pdf]

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Google Scholar: Off-Campus Access

You can use the Library Search | Ketu box to find an article using the journal title.

Search for the "Title of the journal" (within quotation marks), e.g. "Philosophy Compass"

Once you have found a record for the journal, browse by year, volume, issue, page number to find a copy of the article.

If you have tried all of the above methods, and the article you need is not available here, you can request a free copy through our "Get It" Interloan service.

Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.