LibGuides: Medical Laboratory Science: Journals & Databases

Looking for articles on your topic?

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database. The University Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, but we recommend the ones listed below as a starting point for students and researchers.

Some provide only citations for articles, so look for the Article Linker button, or try one of the methods described in the column on the right to access a copy.

Some key databases for Medical Laboratory Science

Search a range of article databases to find articles on a topic, for example

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
-Date range 1946 onwards
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier literature database for medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the preclinical sciences.
-Date range 1946 onwards
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 7000 international journals
CINAHL (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Database provides wide coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE, and the ability to cross-search over 30 abstract and citation databases.
Content includes: scholarly and trade journals, conference papers and proceedings, books, magazines & newspapers, government & official publications, reports, tables, working papers, video & audio.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 23000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature dating back to 1898, providing access to: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers 12500 high impact journals, including Open Access journals, and conference proceedings.

Online OvidSP Medline tutorials

Please note that these tutorials are specific to Yale University staff and students and some information may differ.
OvidSP Essential Training, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University

Finding Information

Click on the image above start this tutorial. You will learn how to:

Analyse a topic and develop a search strategy to find relevant information

Identify the main resources for information used in academic study

Use search techniques to effectively find information in these resources

Database Tutorials

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g: Pearson, T. C., et al. "Interpretation of measured red cell mass and plasma volume in adults: Expert Panel on Radionuclides of the International Council for Standardization in Haematology." British journal of haematology 89.4 (1995): 748-756.

There are 3 easy ways to find a copy. These are listed below.

1) Find an Article using Library Search | Ketu

There are two options for finding articles using Library Search | Ketu

1. To find an article from a citation. Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)

2. To find the Journal:

Search the library catalogue for the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics)
Do a Basic Title begins with search and limit to Journals
The journal may be held in print, electonically, or both
Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

Watch this short video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.

Need more help? Use this guide.

2) Find an Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:

Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
Follow the Article Link links in your results list
Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.

Google Scholar Tips & Tricks [pdf]

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Google Scholar: Off-Campus Access

3) Request a FREE Copy with the "Get It" Interloan service

If you have tried all of the above methods, and the article you need is not available here, you can request a free copy through our "Get It" Interloan service.

Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

What is Article Linker?

Article Linker links article databases to the Library's e-journal collections. It tells you whether (and where) the full-text of an article is available.

You may see Article Linker represented as: or Article Link.