Skip to main content

Asian Studies: Language Resources

Writing in Chinese and Japanese

Learn to write Chinese - tutorials to read and write in Mandarin and Cantonese

Integrated Chinese (Zhong wen ting shuo du xie) : simplified and traditional characters - Central Library Main PL 1129 .E5 IL4, level 2, pt. 2, 2010

Japanese language online lessons - Learn to speak and write Japanese using Kanji, Katakana and Hiragana symbols

Mixxer - find a person to Skype so you can learn to speak or blog in another language

Visual dictionaries

Langwen Zhonghua wen hua feng su tu jie ci dian 朗文中華文化風俗圖解辭典 = Longman visual dictionary of Chinese culture - Central Library Main PL 1423 .CJ393 1997

The Oxford-Duden pictorial Chinese & English dictionary - Central Library Main PL1423 .OZ5

Shi yong Han yu tu jie ci dian 实用汉语图解词典 - Central Library Main PL 1423 .SJ24 1982

First Readers

A beginner's Chinese reader - Central Library Main PL 1115 .GM13

新實用漢語課本 Xin shi yong Han yu ke ben = New practical Chinese reader - Central Reserve PL 1129 .E5 X61 2007 - text book + workbook

Fables of the East : selected tales, 1662-1785 - Central Library Main PN 981 .F274

The year of the rat : tales from the Chinese zodiac - Robertson Library Teaching Support Collection 813 CHI 2008

Long-Long's New Year : a story about the Chinese Spring Festival - Robertson Library Teaching Support Collection 823 GOW 2005

For more titles do an Advanced Search by Subject for "Chinese language readers", or "Japanese language readers".

Vocabulary and Grammar

Language Perfect: practise your vocabulary skills; get your login from your lecturer

 

Nakama : introductory Japanese--communication, culture, context - Central Library Main PL 539.5 .E5 M683 2009 (in semester may be on Reserve)

Japanese online - free language, culture and dictionary resources

ALC - Japanese online dictionary, including usage examples

English-Japanese dictionary or Japanese-English dictionary

Learn Japanese by video - master new vocabulary in 3 minutes - great range of topics from fruit to greetings to Japanese chocolate!

Fundamentals of Japanese grammar : comprehensive acquisition - Central Library Main PL 535 .JP7

Japanese for busy people - Central Library Main PL 539.5 .J3 JB443 - 2 vol. textbook + CDs

Basic Chinese: A Grammar and Workbook - Central Library Main PL 1111 .YG8

English-Chinese dictionary or Chinese-English dictionary

Modern Mandarin Grammar Workbook - E-book

Chinese : an essential grammar - Central Library Main PL 1107 .YG8 2006

汉语口语常用句 Han yu kou yu chang yong ju = Basic Chinese sentences - Central Library Main PL 1125 .E6 LS34 2004

新實用漢語課本 = New practical Chinese reader = Xin shi yong Han yu ke ben - Central Reserve PL 1129 .E5 X61 2007 - textbook + workbook + CDs

Japanese Comics and Manga

Here is a sample of these special books - find more at PN6790 .J33