This guide provides links to resources in the Library that can assist with all aspects of the research process. Access:
These sorts of publications are also helpful if you are undertaking a research proposal or literature review.
Helping Doctoral Students Write by
Helping Doctoral Students Write offers a new approach to doctoral writing. By treating research as writing and writing as research, the authors offer pedagogical strategies for doctoral supervisors that will assist the production of well-argued and lively dissertations." "It is clear that many doctoral candidates find research writing complicated and difficult, but the advice they receive often glosses over the complexities of writing and/or locates the problem in the writer.
Succeeding With Your Master'S Dissertation A Step-By-Step Handbook (3rd ed.) by
Succeeding with your Master's Dissertation, Third Edition, does what few other books do: it carefully guides the student through the entire dissertation process from start to finish, speaking directly to the reader and offering clear, straightforward and practical advice. The author uses clear illustrations of what students should do- or not do - to reach their full potential, helping them to succeed with their dissertation and avoid common pitfalls along the way. Thoroughly revised and updated, this essential handbook takes the student from research proposal, through literature reviews, research methods, and writing up, through to submission and marking, featuring: Essential material on the benefits of using university library databases and social media in research A chapter on good referencing and avoiding plagiarism, plus coverage of research ethics Expanded material on submitting a research proposal, including sample proposal forms for guidance Advice on the emotional journey and where to find assistance and support Information on further reading.
The Postgraduate Research Handbook: succeed with your MA, MPhil, EdD and PhD by
The second edition of this best-selling book will be as lively and accessible as the first edition. As a book, it helps to keep students momentum going, helps them enjoy the process of research and ultimately ensures they can produce a high quality dissertation or thesis. Advice, support and both active and reflective tasks take the students through the stages of research as well as encouraging them to consider social and cultural issues, such as working with their supervisor and other researchers. It is the ideal companion for postgraduate students studying for an MA, MPhil, EdD or PhD, and will be useful for those supervisors looking for extra support for their students.
Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writers by
Debates about researcher education emphasise the dramatic changes facing higher education in the twenty-first century. Post/graduate students must learn often-hidden research literacies with very limited support. Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writersexplores the challenges students face when engaging in research writing. The chapters offer insights into effective pedagogies, ranging from direct, scaffolded instruction to peer learning, in face-to-face and online interventions. Themes extend from genre approaches, threshold concepts and publishing pedagogies through to the emotional aspects of post/graduate writing, writing groups, peer learning and relational collaborations, employing both online and digital technologies. Throughout, authors have revealed how research literacies and writing pedagogies, in situated contexts around the globe, demonstrate practices that are constantly changing in the face of personal, institutional and broader influences.
Publishing from your PhD : Negotiating a crowded jungle
Publishing Pedagogies for the Doctorate and Beyond
Writing for publication
Designing Research for Publication by 
Writing For Academic Journals (3rd ed) by 
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by
offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical. Among the topics covered: · Cultural theories and cultural dominance. · The legal framework of research in indigenous contexts. · The role of language within indigenous peoples' cultural rights. · Methodology: how to optimally collect data in the field. · Researchers' influence and philosophy of science. · Learning how to prepare research in indigenous contexts. Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts is an important reference benefitting a wide audience, including students and researchers in the social sciences, humanities, and psychology; decision-makers of NGOs and GOs that act with regard to humanitarian aid, for tourism projects, or any other contingency with indigenous contexts; and policymakers interested in the aspects of human activity upon which indigenous cultural concerns are based.
Autoethnography, Self-Narrative and Teacher Education by
Examines the professional life and work of teacher educators. In adopting an autoethnographic and life-history approach, Mike Hayler develops a theoretically informed discussion of how the professional identity of teacher educators is both formed and represented by narratives of experience.
Being a Teacher - Researcher: a primer on doing authentic inquiry research on teaching and learning by
Being a Teacher | Researcher provides a detailed framework with ideas and strategies that interested educators can apply in exploring teaching and learning in both formal and informal settings. It provides concrete examples of how to use authentic inquiry as a basis for collaborating with others to improve the quality of teaching and learning while cogenerating new theory and associated practices that bridge what has been described as a theory-practice divide. Included in this book are how to plan and carry out authentic inquiry studies, choosing appropriate methodologies, methods of data collection and analysis, negotiating research with human participants, using authenticity criteria and characteristics, and addressing challenges and conflicts for teacher | researchers.
An Introduction to Educational Research: connecting methods to practice by
Written specifically for education practitioners, An Introduction to Educational Research: Connecting Methods to Practice approaches research methods from a practice-first perspective that aligns research with professional experiences and identifies the tools and resources readers can use when conducting their own research. Throughout the book, the authors illuminate complex research concepts using problems of practice confronting educators to help readers make meaningful connections with key concepts and research practices. The authors present balanced coverage across research methodologies that is linked to practice, so readers clearly see research as a tool they can use to improve classrooms, schools, districts, and educational organizations.
Doing Research in Education: theory and practice by
This book will help you to plan, design and conduct quality research within the specific context of education and educational studies. An impressive cast of contributors discuss the reality of conducting research in different educational settings and provide practical advice for both undergraduate and postgraduate students and early career researchers doing research in education. The book discusses key philosophical issues such as understanding research paradigms, ethics and selecting appropriate methodologies but remains grounded in the practical experience of the researcher. It has comprehensive coverage of the whole research process from start to finish, is easy to navigate and helps develop key skills such as: Time management; Creating good research questions and hypotheses; Constructing the literature review; Structuring a project; Writing a proposal; Managing data; Analysing data; and, Writing for specific audiences. Packed full of learning features and showcasing a wide range of voices and opinions this book is an ideal guide for anyone conducting research in education or educational studies.
Doing educational research (2nd edition) by 
Research for educators by
Research plays a powerful role in shaping effective teaching and learning experiences. By demystifying the research process, Research for Educators assists readers to develop and use research skills in a range of educational contexts. This introductory text steps the reader through the research process from identifying an initial question for research through to communicating the findings. It encourages educators to become discerning consumers of research, as well as active participants, in order to make informed decisions about classroom practices. Using examples from their own work in a range of educational fields, the authors explore the practices required to conduct quality research that is valid, reliable, ethical useful and socially responsible. Throughout, they emphasise the link between reflective practice and being a researcher in the classroom.
Research Methods for Pedagogy by
Research Methods for Pedagogy begins by exploring the different conceptualisations of pedagogy and their implications for how it is researched. The authors reflect on how their sociocultural stance on pedagogy influences the methods they choose to focus on in the book. Moving beyond just schools and formal pedagogies into informal and everyday pedagogies, the authors use a range of case studies across educational sectors and cultures to discuss methods for researching pedagogy. Common approaches such as ethnography and action research are included alongside some quantitative and quasi-experimental methods and often less familiar participatory, multimodal and reflective methods. The authors demonstrate the relationships between theoretical stance, pedagogical context and research approach. Finally, the book addresses the complexity of pedagogy research through discussion of particular ethical and relational aspects as it highlights innovations and developments in research methods for pedagogy.
Quantitative Research in Education by
A brief and practical text designed to allay anxiety about quantitative research. Award-winning authors Wayne K. Hoy and Curt M. Adams first introduce readers to the nature of research and science, and then present the meaning of concepts and research problems as they dispel notions that quantitative research is too difficult, too theoretical, and not practical. Rich with concrete examples and illustrations, the Primer emphasizes conceptual understanding and the practical utility of quantitative methods while teaching strategies and techniques for developing original research hypotheses. NEW TO THIS EDITION *A new chapter devoted to the practical applications of quantitative research uses the concepts of collective trust, organizational climate, and improvement science to illustrate the utility of quantitative research for practice. *New hypotheses found in research studies are available for readers to analyze and diagram. *A new section on self-determination theory has been added to demonstrate the relationship between theory and practice. *A new section on self-regulatory climate gives readers an opportunity to explore an exciting new area they are likely to encounter in practice. *A conceptual description of Hierarchical Linear Modeling (HLM) has been added to help readers understand statistical data organized at more than one level.
Qualitative Data Analysis from Start to Finish by 
Designing and Doing Survey Research by 
Conducting Online Surveys by 
Understanding Education Research: a guide to critical reading by
This book is designed to help students learn to read educational research articles carefully, systematically, and critically. Students learn to categorize titles, decode abstracts, find research questions, characterize research arguments, break down methods and procedures, explore references, apply analysis strategies, and interpret findings. The book allows them to easily develop the skills they need to be research literate. It offers simple guidelines for qualitative, quantitative, and statistical approaches that help students master the basics behind these often complex and confusing methodologies. The book is accessible for future researchers or for students who simply need to understand research clearly. It is written in a clear and engaging style, with ample concrete examples of each stage, offering exercises for student practice.
Critical Thinking: A Concise Guide (4th edition) by
"Critical Thinking: A Concise Guide" is a much needed guide to argument analysis and a clear introduction to thinking clearly and rationally for oneself. Accessibly written, this book equips students with the essential skills required to tell a good argument from a bad one. Key features of the book include: - clear, jargon-free discussion of key concepts in argumentation - how to avoid common confusions surrounding words such as 'truth', 'knowledge' and 'opinion' - how to identify and evaluate the most common types of argument - how to spot fallacies and tell good reasoning from bad - chapter summaries, exercises, examples and a glossary. The second edition has been updated to include topical new examples from politics, sport, medicine and music, as well as new exercises throughout.
Good Reasoning Matters!: a constructive approach to critical thinking by
Designed to help students develop the quality of their thinking and to respond effectively to these often confusing and contradictory messages,Good Reasoning Matters! offers a guide to evaluating and constructing arguments. In addition to examining the most common features of faulty reasoning, the text introduces a variety of argument schemes and rhetorical techniques that will help students solve problems and construct sound arguments. Extensive exercises and examples taken from sources such as social media sites, newspapers, and topical news articles encourage students to consider a wide range of views and perspectives.
Videos, tutorial and guides:
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher by
Brookfield demystifies critically reflective learning and teaching with dozens of practical examples from the classroom in different scholarly fields. Lucid, wise, jargon-free, personal and fluently written.
Practising Critical Reflection: A Handbook by
Critical reflection in professional practice is popular across many different professions as a way of ensuring ongoing scrutiny and improved practice skills. This accessible handbook focuses on a description and analysis of the theoretical input as well as the approach involved in critical reflection. It also demonstrates some skills, strategies and tools which might be used to practise it. The cross-disciplinary approach taken by the authors will appeal to a wide range of students and professionals and combines neatly with useful discussion of the complex educational and professional issues which arise from the practice of critical reflection.
The Purposes, Practices, and Professionalism of Teacher Reflectivity : Insights for Twenty-first-century Teachers and Students by
Very little information about the impact of reflection on teacher performance, teacher retention, and student learning is available in teacher preparation programs. This book provides practical and research-based chapters that offer greater clarity about the particular kinds of reflection that matter and avoids talking about teacher reflection generically, which implies that all kinds of reflection are of equal value. This book addresses five very pertinent concepts: (1) teacher reflectivity in theory and research, (2) teacher reflectivity in teacher education programs, (3) teacher reflectivity with teacher candidates, (4) teacher reflectivity in schools and classrooms, and (5) teacher reflectivity and international perspective
