These are some key Heath Sciences, Anatomy, Physiology, Human Nutrition, Microbiology & Immunology, Genetics, Pharmacology & Toxicology, and Pharmacy databases are listed below.
Have you got a smart phone or tablet? Did you know that many of our key databases are also available via mobile? When you look up the database in the Anatomy database list, Human Nutrition database list, Health Sciences database list, Microbiology database list, or Pharmacy database list and it has this icon: 
: then it's available for iPhone /iPod or iPad or Android.
If you can't access an article online, search the journal title in Library Search | Ketu to see if the issue you need is in print.
If the article is not available at Otago, use the Library's free Interloan Service and have it delivered from another library to your desktop.
Before you start searching the databases, it helps to take time to plan your search.
Step 1: Clearly define the topic or research question
Step 2: Divide the topic or question into separate key concepts
Step 3: Select alternative search terms and synonyms for each concept
Step 4: Consider using text word symbols such as truncation and "phrase searching"
Step 5: Select search terms to combine using Boolean logic - AND, OR, NOT
Step 6: Select relevant databases via the Library homepage or your Subject Guide
Step 7: When searching a database look for subject heading options
Step 8: Run text word searches to complement subject heading searches
Step 9: Review the results and modify your search strategy as required
Remember to always access Google Scholar through the Library webpage - that way you are recognised as a student from the University of Otago and you are given access to all our subscriptions.
Follow the [PDF] link or Otago Article Link on the right-hand side to get the full text of the article.
These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.
Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below: