Skip to main content

Hākena Search Help: Getting your materials

How to find archives and manuscripts, pictures and photographs at the Hocken Collections

On this page:

View digitised images in the Image Gallery

Request material

Bookmark items

Image Gallery

View saved images of digitised items in the Image Gallery on the right of the results screen. To save images to the Image Gallery see Icons and Save to Gallery.

Click on View Gallery to see images in greater detail on another page.

Click an image to see its details or to drag it around the screen. Click the bottom right corner of any image to resize dynamically.Turn the Zoom tool on and scroll over a region of an image to see a full size section of that image. Press Refresh or F5 to resize all images to the original size.

Click on Clear Gallery to remove all items from the Image Gallery.

Images can only be saved for the current session of Hākena.

Requesting information

All physical items listed in Hākena can only be viewed at the Hocken Collections.

You must register as a reader to view any material - see Registration for details.

Material in the Pictures and Photographs collections must be viewed in the Pictorial Collections Reading Room on the first floor, between 1pm and 5pm weekdays or by prior appointment. To make an appointment please contact Pictorial Collections staff.

Material in the Archives and Manuscripts collection must be viewed in the Special Reading Room on the ground floor during the library's opening hours.

You must Log in to request material.

When you are looking at a record that has an Issue Status as Issuable Item you will see two options -

 

Please note: the collection time gives staff an indication of when you intend to be in the library and does not relate to the length of time that you can consult an item.

Request this item today

Click on Request this item today to order material for the current day.

A screen to Confirm Your Item Request will list the item you wish to see and tell you the time of the next collection.

Click on Place Request to proceed and you will see a Request Confirmation that advises where your item must be viewed.

Click on Cancel Request if you do not wish to proceed with the request.

Check the status of your requests by clicking on My requests (use the dropdown menu by your name at the top right of the screen).

Staff can advise you when your item is ready to consult.

Please present your Hocken reader card to desk staff when an item is ready to be issued to you.

Request this item later

Click on Request this item later to request an item the next working day or up to two weeks in advance. You must specify a date and collection time. Click Continue to proceed.

Click on Cancel Request if you do not wish to proceed with the request.

A screen to Confirm Your Item Request will list the item you wish to see and display the date and time you requested to view it.

Click on Place Request to proceed and you will see a Request Confirmation that advises where your item must be viewed.

Click on Cancel Request if you do not wish to proceed with the request.

Check the status of your requests by clicking on My requests (use the dropdown menu by your name at the top right of the screen).

Staff can advise you when your item is ready to consult.

Please present your Hocken reader card to desk staff when an item is ready to be issued to you.

Manual requesting

Some material has not been item-entered onto Hākena yet. This is signalled by the words Inventory available or Draft list available or Unlisted, or you might not be able to navigate to a record that has an Item status of Issuable Item.

These collections must be ordered manually - ask at the Reference desk to see the inventory or draft list, and for manual ordering slips.

Restrictions

Restrictions on access and/or use may apply to some material. Restrictions can be viewed from the results list. See Search results - More information and Access restrictions.

Restrictions can also be viewed in the full record of an item.

Staff can advise on whom to contact for permission to access and/or use material, and provide a permissions form to be completed by both the researcher and person authorising access.

Some items are restricted because of their condition but researchers are able to view a preservation copy (PC) instead. See Advanced searching tips for details on ordering by reference number e.g. PC-0310.

Bookmarks

You can bookmark items from a results list. You must  Log in to create bookmarks.

Click on Bookmark to save an item in your bookmarks. Bookmarks will be retained between sessions until you remove them.

Click on My Bookmarks to view or to remove bookmarks.