Use this online module to help improve your search techniques, click begin...
Library Search | Ketu provides one-step searching across a wide range of the University of Otago Library's resources, including items on the shelf in the Library and some databases, e-journals, e-books and newspapers.
Log in before you start searching in order to improve your search results.
The Library Search | Ketu box is on the Library homepage
Watch this video for a demonstration of how to use Library Search | Ketu.
Subject Guides are a great place to start looking for information on your assignment topic. They provide access to key resources, databases, research, websites and topic-related information.
There is a guide for the main subject areas taught at the University of Otago including:
You may need to use a range of subject guides for your assignments.
|
On the Databases webpage you will find links to 600+ databases. Databases are a good source of information you can use in your assignments. You may need to use a range of databases to find all the information you need. If you know the name of the database you need, select it from the A-Z list.
|
| Tip - if you access Google Scholar via the Databases webpage you will be able to link to articles in some of the Library's databases by clicking 'Otago Article Link' when it appears in the Google Scholar results screen. |
If the Library doesn't have digital or print access to a journal article or book, use the Library's Interloans service to request it, and in most cases we can get it for you for free.
The Interloans service is available to all current University staff and students to support research, study and teaching.
Google is a well-known internet search engine. To ensure you find quality information, use an appropriate search strategy. Try some of the tips and tricks listed in Google Searching (pdf).
Google Scholar can be a useful tool to find academic research available on the web. For help creating a search strategy, read Google Scholar: tips and tricks (pdf).
Wikipedia can be used as a tool to find some quick information on a topic, or to identify more search terms. Use other resources, such as Article Databases, Library Search | Ketu and Google Scholar, to find information you can cite in your assignments.
Google is not the only search engine - see Search the Web for links to a range of other search engines.
You need to evaluate all information you find on the web before you use it in your assignment.
Anyone can publish information on the internet; there is no 'quality control'.
Use this online module or this guide to help you to evaluate the information you find.
