Education collection - Robertson Library

At the request of courses lecturers, required and recommended textbooks (available in print / hard copy) for Education are shelved in this Reserve collection. Items for Otago Polytechnic courses are also in this space. 

• Books are 2-hour loan 
• DVDs are 3-hours
• A copier / scanner / printer is avaialable in this space

Hold shelf 
If you have requested or recalled a library book, and chosen to pick it up from the Robertson Library, this is where you can collect it from.

Important:
Use the self-checkout machine to borrow the items before leaving the Reserve area, or ask Library staff for assistance.

This physical collection of journals is mostly made up of earlier (pre-online issues) and titles not available online, such as some of the Education trade journals.

Most education journals and articles are available online and can be accessed using Library Search Ketu (on the Library homepage) and the databases. 

• The School Journal collection is also in this area.

This is a collection of resources is aimed at student teachers. Resources could be used in the classroom or to help with the development of lesson plans or provide lesson ideas.

The collection includes a range of fiction and nonfiction at various levels (ECE to secondary), Ministry of Education resources and curriculum support resources. 

Note: The College of Education also has a Departmental Library collection. It is independent of the 'offical' Library system, but very useful teaching support and study resources. 

This collection includes resources on all aspects of education as a subject, such as: theories of learning and education, teachers and teaching, child development, curriculum planning, assessment, education psychology, play, classroom management, forms and types of education. 

In LIbrary Search Ketu, the items in this collection have the location: Robertson LIbrary  Books Uni (Education). Some the items in this collection may be restricted to 3-day or 7-day loan.

The following floor plan indicates the locations of the (physical) Education collections in the Robertson Library.

Ground floor - Reserve collection and Journal collection.

First floor - University Education collection and Teaching Support collection.

When you search the Library collection (using Library Search Ketu), you'll find relevant resources in other University Libraries too, especially the Central, Science and Invercargill campus libraries.

Central Library

BF - Psychology (e.g. developmental psychology, human development, pediatric psychology, social psychology

DU - History - New Zealand Aotearoa

DU 464 - Maori resources collection

GV - Physical education & training publications

H Social Sciences (e.g. Social Anthropology, Sociology, Gender studies)

HQ - child development

L - Education

M -  Music - instruction and study

N - Fine Arts

P - Languages & literturature (Te reo Māori resources  - PL 6465)

Science Library

Q - All areas of science excluding Medicine

T - Technology (includes Handicrafts – arts & crafts; Home economics)

More information