Politics: Home

A list of links to information from various international organisations. Includes visual resources such as maps of comprehensive damage assessments of housing and agriculture.
Image source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Palestine_Rally_End_The_Siege,_Stop_the_War_on_Gaza_(53264633371).jpg

De Gruyter in partnership with their publishing partners are opening up a curated collection of titles pertaining to Ukraine and Russia. Follow the links in this spreadsheet to explore the content of each resource.

The Hocken ephemera collection includes political ephemera relating to New Zealand general elections from 1966 onwards. This includes advertising materials from political parties that detail their election policies. These materials will be useful for POLS102 and can be viewed at the Hocken Collections. Contact Katherine Milburn katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz for more information and access to the materials.
The ephemera collection includes a wide range of printed material such as programmes, leaflets, flyers, packaging, and advertising circulars that was produced for immediate and contemporary use and is usually discarded by most people.

The New Zealand Cartoon and Comics Archive is the collection of cartoons and caricatures held by the Alexander Turnbull Library.
The Archive includes: Cartoons, comics and caricatures by and about New Zealanders, reflecting a range of social, cultural and political perspectives and art forms and styles; Digital copies of newspaper and magazine cartoons, from ca 2005 to the present, by cartoonists such as Tom Scott, Bob Brockie, Chris Slane, Sharon Murdoch and David Fletcher; Original cartoon drawings from the 20th and 21st centuries by cartoonists such as Nevile Lodge, Eric Heath, Sharon Murdoch, Dylan Horrocks and Murray Ball; Manuscript material created by or relating to artists’ lives.

Parliament Webinars is a series of informative videos about the ins-and-outs of parliament hosted by the Parliamentary Engagement team with a series of experts who provide insight into Parliament and its processes.
Webinar titles include: Select Committees 101; How Laws are Made; Petitions 101; Get to know the Budget Process; Elections 101; Question Time 101; Executive and Cabinet; Māori Electoriates and the Māori Electoral Roll; the Life Cycle of Parliament.

From nine to noon every weekday, Kathryn Ryan talks to the people driving the news - in New Zealand and around the world. Delve beneath the headlines to find out the real story, listen to Nine to Noon's expert commentators and reviewers and catch up with the latest lifestyle trends on this award-winning programme.

Through the UN Digital Library, users can explore documents, votes, speeches, public domain publications and more.
The Dag Hammarskjöld Library creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. The products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions.