LibGuides: Politics: Government

Digital National Security Archive

The library now has access to all 38 collections within the Digital National Security Archive.

For more information, see:

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Declassified government documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. 38 collections, each focused on a single topic, cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.

British Politics and Society

Nineteenth Century Collections Online opens up access to primary sources from rare collections at libraries and other institutions around the globe, including books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more!

There are 4 collections within Nineteenth Century Collections Online, including:

British Politics and Society (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
From Nineteenth Century Collections Online, British Politics and Society includes tens of thousands of primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the 19th century. Topics covered include British domestic and foreign policy, the working class, trade unions, Chartism, utopian socialism, public protest, radical movements, the cartographic record, political reform, education, family relationships, religion, and leisure. Consisting of more than 1.7 million pages, collections are from a variety of institutions, including the British Library, Oxford University and The National Archives, Kew.

New Zealand Elections

Elections New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Information on enrolling, electoral rolls, voting and MMP, New Zealand's democracy, electoral rules, election results, research and more.
New Zealand Election Study This link opens in a new window
Analysis of New Zealander's political behaviour.

New Zealand Government

These are just some of the many websites owned and administered by the NZ Public Sector. For a more complete list of NZ government websites, please refer to the dataset available at data.govt.nz.

Beehive - Latest News From the Beehive This link opens in a new window
Media releases, speeches, newsletters and an image gallery.
British Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Digitised despatches and reports relating to New Zealand from selected volumes of the British Parliamentary Papers. Includes reports, statutes, correspondence and other documentation, beginning in the 1830s.
data.govt.nz (NZ Government Datasets Online) This link opens in a new window
A directory of publicly-available, non-personal New Zealand government held datasets. This site does not host data, instead it links to datasets held on other government websites.
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet This link opens in a new window
Includes a list of Ministers and their responsibilities, and information about Cabinet Committees.
Hansard (via Knowledge Basket) This link opens in a new window
Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987 onwards are included, and Oral Questions from 1995 onwards.
In The House: Parliament TV On Demand This link opens in a new window
View replays of all proceedings.
New Zealand Government Online This link opens in a new window
Search and browse the online information, services and resources provided by New Zealand Government Agencies.
New Zealand Parliament This link opens in a new window
Information about our MPs, parties, electorates, parliament and parliamentary business (including Bills, Select Committees, Hansard, journals, papers and petitions)

NZ Parliament
Explains where to find Legislation, Journals & Appendices, Debates, Annual reports of government departments, Select committee reports, Standing orders in the library.

Parliament TV This link opens in a new window
Live broadcasts from the New Zealand House of Representatives.
Politics and Government (NZ History Online) This link opens in a new window
Introductory information about New Zealand's political history (includes brief biographies of past Premiers and Prime Ministers).
Radio New Zealand: Parliamentary Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Radio New Zealand’s AM Network broadcasts all sittings of Parliament from transmitters in Auckland, Napier, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin. Radio New Zealand broadcasts are an important part of our democratic process.
Statistics New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Free search for official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.

International Organisations

DagDok: Guide to UN Documentation This link opens in a new window
Designed for students and scholars with an interest in United Nations documentation, DagDok presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the United Nations and provides guidance on how to work with them, linking you to the official webpages of the United Nations.
EUROPA: Gateway to the European Union This link opens in a new window
Information about the EU, EU policies and activities and the documentation centre links to EU documents, from legal texts to historical records, the latest EU-wide surveys and opinion polls.
NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organisation) This link opens in a new window
Official texts, speeches and transcripts.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's full text library of statistical databases, books and journals.
United Nations (UN) This link opens in a new window
For an overview of the types of documents and publications issued by the UN, and guidance on how to find and work with them, see DagDok (above).
World Bank This link opens in a new window
High quality statistical data, research outputs, information and analysis on global trends in the world economy.
World Trade Organization (WTO) This link opens in a new window
World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the rules of trade between nations at a global or near-global level.
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development This link opens in a new window
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

NZ Local Government

A-Z New Zealand Local Councils
Alphabetical list of NZ Local Councils with links to their websites and contact details.

Dunedin City Council (DCC) This link opens in a new window
Information about the services and facilities provided by the Dunedin City Council for residents and visitors to Dunedin.
Local Councils New Zealand Website This link opens in a new window
Information about local government and how it works in New Zealand from the Department of Internal Affairs.
Local Government New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Useful publications relating to local government are available from this site representing the Councils of New Zealand.
Local Government Online This link opens in a new window
News and information about New Zealand's 85 local government councils.
Otago Regional Council (ORC) This link opens in a new window
Includes information about council representatives, council and committee meetings, council policies, plans, annual reports, local elections and more.

Politics: Government