Skip to Main Content

Law subject guide: Canada

Quicklinks: Canada

GALLOPP  Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal.

Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial governments and legislatures.

Supreme court Judgments

Loading ...

Federal Legislation

Canada

This page is for material from Canada, including legislation, case law, law commission material.

We're still working on updating the content but in the meantime, here is what we had on the old (2010) subject guide. Right-click to open these links in a new tab or window.

Legislation
Access to Justice Set up by the Canadian Bar Association to provide access to all Canadian federal and provincial statutes, regulations and legislative information. Frequently updated
Canadian Federal Legislation Click on the "English" button. Includes consolidated Acts, Bills and Regulations via the Mistiry of Justice website. Not an easy-to-use package but it does provide the goods.
CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute Searchable free fulltext databases of federal and provincial Canadian legislation and case law.
LEXIS Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes
Westlaw Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law.
   

Legislation by State
Alberta Unofficial consolidations, listed by short title. Includes regulations and codes.
British Columbia Revised statutes. Also includes historical tables, and point in time statutes.
   
   

 

  • Manitoba - Includes the Continuing Consolidated Statutes of Manitoba, in html format, plus annual statutes from 1996-, in pdf format.
  • New Brunswick - Consolidated acts and regulations, plus annual legislation from 2000+
  • New Foundland and Labrador - Provides consolidated statutes and regulations (updated regularly) and annual statutes from 1990+
  • Northwestern Territories - Consolidated statutes.
  • Nova Scotia - Most acts, consolidated and/or as passed (since 1996).
  • Nunavut - Includes consolidated statutes as well as annual statutes since April 1999.
  • Ontario - Searchable consolidations of most public statutes and regulations, promptly updated. Annual statutes available from 2001.
  • Quebec - Revised statutes, regulations, and annual statutes (back to 1996); some available in English.
  • Saskatchewan - Includes continuously updated and searchable statutes.
  • Yukon - Includes Revised Statutes and annual statutes from 2003.

 

Case law

Public access CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute - Searchable free fulltext databases of federal and provincial Canadian legislation and case law. Full text
Further information LEXIS - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+). Full text | NZ Content
Further information Westlaw - Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. Full text
  • Alberta - Searchable Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's Bench and Provincial Court decisions from January 1998.
  • British Columbia Judgments - A searchable file of Court of Appeal and Supreme Court judgments from January 1996. Uses conventional Boolean and proximity operators.
  • Federal Court of Canada decisions - Searchable full text of published decisions from 1992. Includes recent unpublished decisions.
  • Nova Scotia - Law News Online provides access to full text of decisions (from January 1999) and digests (mainly Supreme and Appeal) since July 1997.
  • Ontario - Searchable decisions from the Court of Appeal from1998, but judgments from 1994 are also available on CanLII, www.canlii.org/ as are decisions of the Superior Court of Justice from 2003.
  • Prince Edward Island - Searchable Court of Appeal decisions from January 1997.
  • Quebec - Decisions from several courts and tribunals, from 1998.
  • Saskatchewan - Searchable Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's bench and Provincial Court decisions from 1994.
  • Supreme Court of Canada - Searchable full text of all  decisions from 1878. Includes recent unpublished decisions.

 

Other Resources