Law subject guide: Hidden International

The aim is to provide a handful of really good starting points - makes it easy for students to get started; makes staff training easier; makes good use of the high-quality stuff that's out there.

Possibly risky- out of sight, out of mind.

And we need to think about our print resources and our subscription databases and where they fit in - not the ASIL focus.

• Audiovisual Library of International Law - features Jurisprudence of International Courts and Tribunals, and the official records and publications of the United Nations.
• Australian Treaties Library - Texts and status information 1930+. Links to related information, from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and AUSTLII. Uses AUSTII's SINO search engine.
• Avalon Project - Yale Law School database of current and historical documents of American law, government and international regulations, including treaties, legislation and books.
• Bibliographies - Detailed, regularly updated lists of articles and books on topical subjects such as International Criminal Law and the WTO, from the Peace Palace Library at The Hague.
• EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law) - An authoritative detailed guide to resources from the American Society for International Law.
• European Treaty Series - Nearly 200 treaties entered into by the Council of Europe, including the European Convention on Human Rights.
• Flare Index to Treaties - information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties from 1856 to the present.
• Guide to Law Online - Annotated hypertext guide to free online sources of information worldwide on government and law. It links only to the most useful and reliable sites for legal information. Prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress.
• Hague Conventions - Hague Conventions on Private International Law along with status reports, bibliographies and translations. Fulltext.
• International Court of Justice - Full text of Judgments and Orders, dating back to 1947, as well as pleadings, news releases and other documents. (Much material also available on Westlaw)
• International Courts and Tribunals Project - A comprehensive facility for the searching the fulltext of decisions of at least 20 international and multi-national courts and tribunals, based at Worldlii.
• International Criminal Court - UN page with links to ICC documentation and the ICC home page.
• International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yuogoslavia - Detailed documentation, including judgments (Also available on Westlaw).
• International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda - Detailed documentation, including judgements (Also available on Westlaw).
• International Law Commission - Reports relating to the work of the Commission and related documents, dating back to 1996.
• LLRX Research Guides - Up-to-date expert guides to a host of specific topics in international law.
• Multilaterals Project - Leading free online source of treaties in full text, from the Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts. Emphasis is on significant treaties since World War II. The database is fully searchable, but treaties are also listed by date and by subject.
• New Zealand Treaty Register - Selected fulltext. Details of Treaty actions January 2000+
• Permanent Court of International Justice - Full text of all series (A to F) of the documentation of the Court, 1922-46. (The Law Library holds a print set of Series A, A/B and B.)
• Philip C. Jessup Library - This library provides access the International Law Student Association's Journal of International and Comparative Law and Journal of International Law, and to the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Compendium.
• Researching the United Nations: Finding the Organization's Internal Resource Trails - Recommended starting point for United Nations research.
• United Nations Home Page - UN resources, including all Security Council Resolutions, recent press releases and General Assembly Resolutions and the web pages of UN organs.
• United Nations: Official Document System - Fulltext searching of over 800,000 documents, from at least 1993 (some important types of documentation begin at 1946). At the search screens, click on 'Useful Links' to find a Research Guide.
• World Court Digest - Well-designed digest of the jurisprudence of the International Court of Justice since 1986 from the prestigous Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
• World Treaty Index - Beta version of the index last published in print in 1984. Now covers some 80,000 treaties from 1900 to date. Does not provide full text.