Law subject guide: hidden nz misc

Commentaries

	Acts in Looseleaf Services (NZ) A finding-aid for New Zealand statutes published in looseleaf services held in the Sir Robert Stout Law Library, 8th floor of the Richardson Building.	NZ Content
	Brookers Criminal Library (via Brookers) ‘Adams on Criminal Law’, 'Adams…Sentencing', ‘Criminal Reports of NZ’ and ‘Misuse of Drugs’.	Full text | NZ Content
	Brookers Employment Library (via Brookers) Includes reported and unreported cases as well as commentaries on New Zealand Employment law.	Full text | NZ Content
	Family Law Library NZ (via LexisNexis) Contains "Family Law Service", "Family Law Journal" , "NZ Family Law Reports" and "Fisher on Matrimonial and Relationship Property".	Full text | NZ Content
	Laws of New Zealand Legal encyclopedia. Also in print in the Law Library.	Full text | NZ Content
	McGechan on Procedure (via Brookers) Commentary on civil procedure in the higher NZ courts	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Company Law and Practice Commentary Access via CCH	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Conveyancing Law and Practice Commentary Access via CCH	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Employment Law Commentary Access via CCH	Full text | NZ Content

^ Top of page

Government and Parliament

	Cabinet Manual Searchable version of this authoritative free source on constitutional and procedural matters. Supplemented by the Cabinet 'Step-by-Step Guide’.	Full text | NZ Content
	Directory of Official Information Free access to 2009 edition. Print editions also in University libraries	Full text | NZ Content
	Hansard (via Knowledge Basket) Searchable access to three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987 onwards are included, and Oral Questions from 1995 onwards.	Full text | NZ Content
	Insurance and Savings Ombudsman Latest Newsletter and procedural material.	Full text | NZ Content
	Law Commission - NZ Preliminary Papers (from no 24), Study papers and Reports (from no 34). (Many documents also searchable at the NZLII site)	Full text | NZ Content
	Law reform papers (pre-1987) Canterbury University Library's searchable repository including documents pre-dating the establishment of the Law Commission.	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Courts Information on courts plus selected recent judgments (retained for 28 days)	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Gazette Free issues, back to 2000. Not searchable	Full text | NZ Content
	New Zealand Government General gateway	NZ Content
	New Zealand Parliament Official website including Select Committee information and Reports; Parliamentary Library publications , including research papers, Bills Digests, and electorate profiles; fact sheets and procedural guides; Hansards from 2003 on; Order Paper; searchable file of Written Questions and Answers.	Full text | NZ Content
	Office of Film & Literature Classification Free database of film and literature classification decisions from 1963 on.	NZ Content
	Ombudsmen Latest Annual Report and a Consolidated Index to the Ombudsmen Quarterly Review Te Arotake.	Full text | NZ Content
	Standing Orders of the House of Representatives Current version. Print edition also in the Law Library. Use the downloads panel to access.	Full text | NZ Content

^ Top of page

Law Journals

To search for articles on NZ law, use the databases on the NZ Law page (also covers newspapers and general journals).

• Maori Law Review - Fulltext of earlier issues. Up-to-date files of print copies are held in the Law and Hocken Libraries.
• NZLII The NZ Legal Information Institute - Includes some issues of law reviews, including Otago Law Review, Victoria University of Wellington Law Review

^ Top of page

Other Resources

• An Overview of New Zealand Law - Margaret Greville's brief overview of the legal system and research resources.
• Auckland District Law Society - Features a legal news section, an excellent list of legal Web sites ('Legal Links'), papers from the Public Issues Committee (under 'Profession/ Committees'), and extracts from recent issues of Law News (under 'Products & Services')
• Brooker's Legal Directory - Search for a lawyer by name, region or area of expertise.
• Crime Statistics - Includes links to Police statistics.
• Human Rights Foundation - Publications and documents and links to related sites.
• Maori Legal Sites - University of Waikato Law Library's set of links to relevant web sites.
• New Zealand Law Society - Press releases and other documents, such as (under 'Publications') the Rules of the NZLS and the Rules of Professional Conduct for Barristers and Solicitors.
• Rules Committee - information about the Rules governing the main NZ courts and proposed changes.