Research aids
Foreign and Comparative Law
 |
Globalex - Up-to-date
expert guides to researching the laws of many countries with links to
key sites |
|
|
Worldlii: World Legal Information
Institute - Directory of free legal Web sites, with a search engine
for searching their contents. Useful for tracing sites for specific
countries. |
|
- AsianLII (Asian Legal
Information Institute) - Case law, legislation and other full text
material from over 20 countries
- Comparative
Law Guide to Research (10K in PDF format) - A guide
developed by
the Law Library to assist in your research of Comparative Law.
- Droit
francophone
- A new Legal Information Institute, providing legal resources
from
all French-speaking jurisdictions
- Electronic Journal of
Comparative Law
- Free subscription provides email details of new issues.
- GlobalCourts
- Worldwide guide to web sites holding decisions from
'Supreme' courts
(the highest court of a jurisdiction).
- Finding
Foreign Law Online - Lyonette Louis-Jacques' wide-ranging
guide
to potentially useful gateways and sources. (Some are
subscription-only
sites).
- German Law Archive
-Selected
legislation, cases, articles and bibliographies in English,
with annotated
links to German law sites.
- Guide to
Law Online
- Annotated hypertext guide to free online sources of
information
worldwide on government and law. It links only to the most
useful and
reliable sites for legal information. Prepared by the U.S. Law
Library
of Congress.
- Heiros Gamos
-Massive
international listing of legal subjects, with source materials
sub-arranged
by country.
- HKLII (Hong Kong Legal
Information
Institute) - Searchable, mostly full text, database of current
Hong
Kong legislation, treaties and many court decisions, with some
material
dating back to 1982.
- Institute of
Global
Law - German and French decisions, translated into
English, courtesy
University College, London and the University of Texas
- Legifrance -
Government
site providing extensive, searchable collections of French
legislation,
codes and case law, including some validated English
translations of codes and important laws.
- LLRX.com
- up-to-date expert guides to researching the laws of many
foreign jurisdictions
plus links to key sites
- Martindale-Hubbell
Law Digests on Lexis - Summaries of the law of many
jurisdictions.
(Under the 'Legal' tab, choose the 'Reference' folder, then
follow the
path to Martindale-Hubbell/ Law Digests)
- World Law - Directory
and database
of Web sites concerning law coupled with a search engine for
searching
the content of those sites.
^ Top of
page
Law Reform
- Law Reform
Commission
Links - Links to Australian and other overseas law reform
agency
sites; most provide full text reports
- Law Reform Database -
Database of
information about some 7,000 Law Reform Commission
publications from
the Commonwealth and the USA. Includes links to full text of
many of
the indexed documents. Includes some information about the
implementation
of report recommendations. Is a good source of historical
material.
- WorldLii Law
Reform Project - The project aims to make searchable from
one location all of the databases specialising in Law Reform available
on any of the Legal Information Institutes (LIIs) that are part of
WorldLII. The databases currently included are the law commissions of
Australia, Hong Kong, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland, South
Africa, and England.
Law Journals
|
Electronic Law
Journals - Free University of Toronto database identifying law
journals available on the Web and in subscription databases such as
Lexis and Westlaw (but not Hein Online). |
|
 |
HeinOnline
- Provides coverage of law and law-related periodicals. The collection
includes: Law Journal Library; Federal Register/CFR; U.S. Code; U.S.
Supreme Court Library; Legal Classics; U.S. Presidential Library;
Treaties & Agreements; English Reports; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S.
Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Attorney General Opinions;
European Center for Minority Issues; Manual of Patent Examining
Procedure; Trends in Law Library Management and Technology; American
Association of Law Libraries; Association of American Law Schools;
Philip C Jessup Library; Harvard Research in International Law; and,
World Constitutions Illustrated. |
Full text | NZ Content |
|
Index
New Zealand - New Zealand database for general interest material,
social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated
daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New
Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the
present. |
NZ Content |
|
Index
to Periodical Articles Related to Law - Standard law journal
indexes |
NZ Content |
|
Legal
Journals Index (via Westlaw) - Gives more detailed coverage of UK
and European law journals than Legaltrac |
|
|
LegalTrac
- Indexes major law journals (1400+ titles - some fulltext) from USA,
Australia, NZ, Canada and UK, by subject, author, title, statute and
case name.
|
Full text | NZ Content |
|
LEXIS
- Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law.
Includes New Zealand Administrative Reports (1995+), District Court
Reports (1996+), NZ Resource Management Appeals (1991+).
|
Full text | NZ Content |
|
LINX
(via Brookers) - Index of NZ cases, journal articles, books and
conference proceedings, 1986 to date. Acts as a catalogue of the
Canterbury, Wellington and Auckland District Law Society Libraries.
Links to some judgments in full text. |
NZ Content |
|
Philip
C. Jessup Library - This library provides access the International
Law Student Association's Journal of International and Comparative Law
and Journal of International Law, and to the Philip C. Jessup
International Law Moot Court Competition Compendium. |
Full text |
|
Rave (Law
Journal Index) - An index to articles on European law, from
Heinrich-Heine-Universität. Over 180 journals are indexed from 1995.
Emphasis on European journals. |
|
|
Westlaw
- Thousands of fulltext files on national and international law. |
Full text |
- University
of Otago E-Journals - A subject search on 'Government,
law' and
Public Policy' produces a list of over 500 subscribed law
journals available
on the web to staff and students; includes many Lexis and
HeinOnline
titles but doesn't yet cover Westlaw.
- University Law Review
Project
- Can be used to identify fulltext journals on the web or to
search
their content.
^Top of page
Free Web journals
To search for articles on NZ law, use the databases on the NZ
Law page (also covers newspapers and general journals).
Human Rights
- Council of Europe - Texts
of CoE
treaties, such as the European Convention on Human Rights.
- EISIL (Electronic
Information
System for International Law) - An authoritative detailed
guide to resources
from the American Society for International Law.
- European Court of Human
Rights
- Official homepage of the court (now the new and permanent
Single Court,
including, since November 1998, the former European Commission
of Human
Rights). Includes searchable full text court and commission
decisions
dating back to 1960. It is advisable to consult the Help
section before
using the search facilities.
- Project
DIANA -
An Online Human Rights Archive - Yale University database
of notable
human rights treaties and court decisions.
- Treaty Body
Database (UN)
- Documents issued by the six United Nations committees which
monitor
implementation of the international human rights treaties,
from about
1993 (Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights)
- United States Dept
of State
Reports - Detailed annual reports to Congress on the state
of human
rights in many countries.
- University of
Minnesota Human
Rights Library - 20,000+ documents plus links and Human
Rights search
engines.
- Women's
Human Rights
Resources - Database of articles, treaties, court
decisions and
other documents, based at the Bora Laskin Library of the
University
of Toronto.
^ Top of
page
Intellectual property
- European
Patent Office
- Access to Decisions of the Administrative Council and the
Official
Journal, from 1997, as well as searchable full text Decisions
of the
Boards of Appeal and free access to a search engine for
identifying
European patent documents from the bibliographic data attached
to them.
- UNESCO's
Collection
of National Copyright Laws - Mostly official versions but
only in
one language. Site constantly being updated.
- WIPO (World Intellectual
Property
Organisation) - Intellectual Property Digital Library (IPDL)
(under
News & Information Resources) and at Arbiter,
a database relating to domain name disputes.
- CLEA
(WIPO's Collection
of Laws for Electronic Access ) - WIPO (World Intellectual
Property
Organisation) provides this full-text database of intellectual
property
legislation from some 35 countries, together with WIPO
treaties. Can
be browsed by country. Uses FolioViews search software for
full text
searching of the database.
^ Top of
page
International Trade Law
- CISG Database -
Pace Law
School's database provides worldwide cases, materials and
commentary
on the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale
of Goods,
with links to related national sites and translations of many
cases
- EISIL (Electronic
Information
System for International Law) - An authoritative detailed
guide to resources
from the American Society for International Law.
- GATT Digital
Library
- Over 50,000 GATT documents, 1947-1994.
- Lex Mercatoria -
International
Trade Law. A general access page for this subject, originally
established
at The University of Tromsø, Norway.
- UNILEX - Updated
database of
international case law and bibliography on the UN Convention
on Contracts
for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) and the UNIDROIT
Principles
of International Commercial Contracts.
- UNCITRAL
(United Nations Commission on International Trade Law) -
Research Guide
to UNCITRAL documentation, UNCITRAL publications, and the
CLOUT database
of abstracts of case law on UNCITRAL texts.
- WorldTradeLaw.net
- Full-text searching of GATT/WTO/NAFTA cases and settlements, and
Dispute Settlement Commentaries.
- WTO (World Trade
Organisation) -
Fulltext of over 100,000 official documents of the WTO and
some from
the GATT, from 1984 on, as well as catalogue records of
documents. Documents
are in a variety of formats. Excludes WTO 'publications'.
Includes dispute
settlement material, including reports.
^ Top of
page
More specific subjects
- [Australian]
Indigenous Law Resources - AustLII's collections of
full-text resources.
- Australian Institute of
Criminology
- AIC publications, news, and links to crime statistics and
other criminology
sites, Australian and world-wide.
- ECOLEX - A comprehensive
global source of information on environmental law, and includes
information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding
policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial
decisions, and law and policy literature.
- ENTRI
(Environmental
Treaties and Resource Indicators) - Fulltext environmental
treaties
and national resource indicators relating from CIESIN (Center
for International
Earth Science Information Network).
- FAOLEX -
National
laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable
natural resources.
- Fourth World Documentation
Project
- Fulltext material of all kinds on anything to do with
indigenous peoples;
cornerstone of the CWIS (Center for World Indigenous Studies)
site.
- Freedom of
Information Page
- University of Tasmania site which assists access to
international
and Australian material.
- ILO
Databases - including ILOLEX , a database on international
labour
standards, containing ILO Conventions and Recommendations and
NATLEX,
giving bibliographic references to national labour laws, with
summaries
and some full text.
- International
Digest of Health Legislation - Database of summaries of,
or references
to, selected national and international health legislation,
including
web links to available full text. Continues the printed
International
Digest of Health Legislation (held in the Law Library).
- Native
Title Infobase - Australian Federal Courts site which
indexes and
abstracts extensive Australian resources from 1839 plus some
material
from other countries.
