LibGuides: Pharmacology and Toxicology: Journals & Databases

Some key databases for Pharmacology & Toxicology

Some key Health Sciences databases are listed below.

Have you got a smart phone or tablet? Did you know that many of our key databases are also available via mobile? When you look up the database in the Health Sciences database list and it has this icon: : then it's available for iPhone /iPod or iPad or Android.

AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window
AccessNeurology provides access to authoritative, trusted, and current information on neurology and neuroscience reference, research, and teaching. Including:
• Kandel’s Principles of Neural Science, 6th ed.
• Adams and Victor’s Principles of Neurology, 11th ed.
• Clinical Neuroanatomy, 29th ed.
• DeMyer’s The Neurological Examination: A Programmed Text, 7th ed.

PubMed
Covers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Date range 1960+
SciFinder-n (CAS)
SciFinder-n is the new new platform for SciFinder. First time users must register (see entry below). This comprehensive database for chemical reactions, substances, structures and indexed chemistry patents includes journal abstracts, patents and other literature references on all areas of science and its applications.
2023 - now contains CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulus

SciFinder (registration) This link opens in a new window
First-time users must register at this site before accessing ScFinder.

Scopus
Multidisciplinary sciences coverage. Incorporates the ScienceDirect e-journals collection. Date range 1960 onward
Web Of Science All Databases
Search across all subscribed Web of Science databases: Web of Science Core Collection; BIOSIS Citation Index; Current Contents Connect; Inspec; KCI-Korean Journal Database; MEDLINE; Russian Science Citation Index; SciELO Citation Index; and, Zoological Record.

Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Date range 1947 onwards. Premier literature database for medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the preclinical sciences.

Toxline
This NLM database, provides literature on toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Database provides wide coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE, and the ability to cross-search over 30 abstract and citation databases.
Content includes: scholarly and trade journals, conference papers and proceedings, books, magazines & newspapers, government & official publications, reports, tables, working papers, video & audio.

AccessPharmacy
An online curricular resource designed for pharmacy education. This database offers access to: Textbooks; Quick Reference; Multimedia library; Drug therapy cases; Self-assessment; Topics in Evidence-Based Pharmacy Practice; Integrated drug database.

Global Health This link opens in a new window
CABI Global Health contains the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database and human health and diseases information extracted from CAB Abstracts, covering public health, environmental science, disease transmission and more, from 1910.
British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
USP-NF Online This link opens in a new window
USP-NF Online - Registration This link opens in a new window
First time users of USP-NF must register with their @student.otago.ac.nz or @otago.ac.nz email address, using this link. Please email eresources.library@otago.ac.nz to request the Subscription Key.

Article not online? Interloan it!

If you can't access an article online, search the journal title in Library Search | Ketu to see if the issue you need is in print.

If the article is not available at Otago, use the Library's free Interloan Service and have it delivered from another library to your desktop.

Database Tutorials

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.

Help with PubMed

Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below:

PubMed Online Training
Tutorials from the U.S. National Library of Medicine

PubMed Guide
A quick and easy guide to getting the most out of your PubMed searches

Find an article using Google Scholar

Remember to always access Google Scholar through the Library webpage - that way you are recognised as a student from the University of Otago and you are given access to all our subscriptions.

Follow the [PDF] link or Otago Article Link on the right-hand side to get the full text of the article.