Skip to Main Content

Pharmacology and Toxicology: Books

Your toolkit guide to recommended resources for Pharmacology and Toxicology

Online Pharmacology and Toxicology Books

The Library's collection of e-books is growing all the time. These Pharmacology & Toxicology books are online:

Goodman and Gilman's: the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann
2023 Ebook
Molecular and cellular pharmacology by E. Edward Bittar (Editor); Neville Bittar (Editor)
Ebook; Part of the series: Principles of medical biology
Encyclopedia of Toxicology, 3e by Philip Wexler (Editor-In-Chief)
2014 Ebook
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance, 8e by Michael J. Neal
2016 8th ed. Ebook; 2020 9th ed. at Health Sciences Library Books Books QV 38 .N342 2020
Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, 9th Edition by Curtis D. Klaassen
2019 Ebook
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 9e by James M. Ritter; Rod J. Flower; Graeme Henderson; Yoon Kong Loke; David MacEwan; Humphrey P. Rang
2020 Ebook
Principles of Pharmacology by David E. Golan
2016 Ebook
Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia: Drug Discovery, Development, and Manufacturing
2010 Ebook

Print Pharmacology and Toxicology Books

These books are a great starting point for your research and some are on Course Reserve:

Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann; Randa Hilal-Dandan
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Books WB 330 G653 2018
Publication Date: 2018
BNF for Children 2018-2019 (BNFC) by Paediatric Formulary Committee
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Reserve QV 740 B661
British National Formulary (BNF)
Latest 2 issues at Health Sciences Library Reserve QV 740 B862
Drug Information Handbook, 27e
Call Number: Health Sciences Library Books QV 735 D7945 2018
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance, 9e by Michael J. Neal
2020 at Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Books QV 38 .N342 2020
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, 9e by James M. Ritter; Rod J. Flower; Graeme Henderson; Yoon Kong Loke; David MacEwan; Humphrey P. Rang
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Reserve QV 4 .R196 2020
Principles of Pharmacology, 4e by David E. Golan
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Books QV 38 PY58 2017
Casarett & Doull's Toxicology, 8e by Curtis D. Klaassen; Louis J. Casarett; John Doull
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Books QV 600 C335 2013
Textbook of Receptor Pharmacology, 3e by John C. Foreman (Editor); Torben Johansen (Editor); Alasdair J. Gibb (Editor)
Call Number: Health Sciences Library (Dunedin) Books QV 38 TG81 2011

Other places to find books

Try searching:

Library Search | Ketu
Search to find all books (including E-books) held by the University of Otago Library
Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to over 700 texts in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Te Puna - National Bibliographic Database
Search to find books held in libraries around New Zealand
Special Collections - Medical Rare Books
The Monro Collection comprises manuscripts and books amassed by the Monro family: Alexander (father; primus), Alexander (son; secundus); and Alexander (grandson; tertius). These include a second edition of Vesalius: Humani Corporiis Fabrica.