LibGuides: Gender Studies: Web Research

A list of resources, freely available on the web, that give you the ability to find and, in most instances, access scholarly research. Includes full text articles in open access journals, working papers, theses and open access books.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Directory of Open Access Repositories: OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window Search through the world's repositories of freely available research information, from repositories that have been approved by OpenDOAR.
Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form
OAIster This link opens in a new window OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide.
Open folklore This link opens in a new window Open Folklore, a partnership of the American Folklore Society and the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries, is a new scholarly communications effort to make a greater number and variety of useful resources available to folklorists.
OpenGrey This link opens in a new window Open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe.
OpenThesis This link opens in a new window OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents.
Social Science open access repository This link opens in a new window A growing collection of full-text social-science documents which you can access freely. Some documents in languages other than English. Browse by discipline or search by keyword.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window DOAB provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
OAPEN This link opens in a new window The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation

Paperity Paperity is a multi-disciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid"

These resources can help you find and track emerging research. Some require you to become a registered member (usually no cost).

Follow specific authors and find full text publications:

Academia.edu Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers.
Mendeley Mendeley is a desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers, discovering research data and collaborating online.
ResearchGate ResearchGate is a network dedicated to science and research. Connect, collaborate and discover scientific publications, jobs and conferences.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.

Get involved in discussions:

eSocSci eSocSci connects New Zealand social scientists and their ideas across all disciplines, sectors and locations. The website uses academic blogging, networks, online seminars and econferences to facilitate this.
Methodspace Sage sponsored online community focusing on research methodology in the Social Sciences. Includes feature books, articles, and online discussion groups.
Social Science Space Sage sponsored online social network for Social Scientists. Features blogs, forum discussions, and a resource centre.

H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Online) This link opens in a new window An international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers. Edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.

A list of resources freely available on the web that give you the ability to find and access statistics/data sets.

New Zealand Sources:

data.govt.nz (NZ Government Datasets Online) This link opens in a new window A directory of publicly-available, non-personal New Zealand government held datasets. This site does not host data, instead it links to datasets held on other government websites.
Statistics New Zealand This link opens in a new window Free search for official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.

Figure.nz statistics

International Sources:

OECD - Gender Portal to OECD reports, data and articles related to Gender.
Population Reference Bureau The Population Reference Bureau collects data on the topics of population, health, and the environment.
The Gender Data Portal (World Bank) The portal includes gender datasets from the United Nations(UN) compiled by its Regional Commissions and Sectoral Agencies, as well as World Bank conducted or funded surveys and reports, such as the 2012 World Development Report (WDR) on Gender and Development.
Toksave - Pacific Gender Research The Toksave Pacific Gender Resource hosts a wide range of research that aims to advance gender equality in the Pacific. We take a broad approach to ‘research’ that includes original research based on the analysis of primary or secondary data; policy and evaluation oriented research; research based on creative and performing arts; and completed high level degree theses. We are particularly interested in research that is based on Pacific research methodologies and methods, involves Pacific-centred subject matter and impacts on Pacific communities.
UN Data A single entry point to United Nations (UN) data. Includes access to data sets like the Indicators on Women and Men database and the Gender Info database.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) Primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
United Nations Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men This web site provides the latest statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: - Population - Health - Women and men in families - Education - Work - Political decision making.

For a more comprehensive list try:

Planning Subject Guide: Data Resources

How do I improve my web searching skills?

Want to brush up on your web searching skills?

Start with the Self Help guide:

Self-Help Guide This guide will help you use the many services and resources available at the University of Otago Libraries. In this guide you will find: Video Tutorials PDF guides Interactive online learning modules Links to other student support services on campus

Google like a Pro
Some tips on how to use Google more effectively!

Google - Advanced Searching Guide