LibGuides: Social and Community Work: Journals & Databases

These databases are highly recommended for finding Social Work related articles. If your research has a New Zealand focus, also check out the NZ Specific Databases tab.

Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed.
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
Informit Families & Society Collection This link opens in a new window This database brings together authoritative family related research to support researchers, policy makers and community organisations in their work.
Social Sciences Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches across ProQuests Social Science databases, including IBSS, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences, ProQuest Social Science Journals and more...
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Communication science, Demography, Economics, Human services, Political science, Policy studies, Psychology, and Sociology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Social Care Online Includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, books, text books and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains around 150,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
The Hub The Hub is a one-stop-shop for New Zealand social science government research related to education, health and wellbeing, crime and justice, families, children and young people.

Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window PIO is an international index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1665. Every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection This link opens in a new window The PAO Foundation Collection is an archive of 215 digitised academic journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from first issue to the end of 2000, or final issue (whichever is first).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Trove This link opens in a new window A discovery service focused on Australia, Australians, and items found in Australian collecting institutions. Provides a single point of access to resources currently discoverable via the National Library of Australia's multiple discovery services, and to digitised material freely available online anywhere in the world.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window A collection of full text journals (1400+) in humanities, social sciences, science and technology from Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press, including access to back issues from 1997 where available.

IndexNZ
Abstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s.

Also see:

The Hub The Hub is a one-stop-shop for New Zealand social science government research related to education, health and wellbeing, crime and justice, families, children and young people.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions.
DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window Aims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.
Knowledge Basket This link opens in a new window New Zealand Index (including Newzindex, NZ Science, Newspaper Index, Index New Zealand), Newztext and LegislationNZ (including Hansard).
LexisNexis NZ This link opens in a new window A law resource that includes a broad range of New Zealand subject areas including Family, Land Laws, Laws of New Zealand, Sentencing and Transport, and NZ Acts and Regulations.
National Library of New Zealand Discovery Search This link opens in a new window Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles.
NZResearch This link opens in a new window Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand; now hosted by DigitalNZ
Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window Search the National Union Catalogue for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.

Aotearoa New Zealand social work : review. Published by the Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers Inc. Older title "Social Work Review". One issue per year has a Māori theme and also has subtitle: Te komako. One issue by Pacific Social Workers published every two years and has subtitle: Te mau.
Call Number: Central Library Journals [Floor 1] HV515.5 .A57b
Journal of New Zealand Studies The Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. Papers are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus, or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
Kōtuitui New Zealand journal of social sciences online. Kōtuitui aims to showcase the increasing number of collaborative research endeavours across the social sciences. Although of particular relevance to New Zealand, the journal’s subject matter is of worldwide relevance and interest to researchers in universities, research institutes, and other centres. The Maori name ‘Kōtuitui’ means ‘interweaving’, and reflects the interdisciplinary nature of the journal.
Mai Journal MAI Journal publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.
New Zealand Family Law Journal The New Zealand Family Law Journal (formerly Butterworth’s Family Law Journal) brings together in one publication articles and items of interest on family law related matters.
New Zealand Journal of Educational Studies‎ The New Zealand Journal of Educational Studies (NZJES) is the official journal of the New Zealand Association for Research in Education.
New Zealand Sociology Disseminates & promotes research & thought that has the clarification & development of theoretically informed research in sociology & related disciplines with a predominant, though not exclusive, concern with New Zealand.
Sites: a journal of social anthropology and cultural studies Sites seeks multidisciplinary perspectives on the study of societies and cultures of the wider Pacific region. We welcome work from authors in the fields of anthropology, culture studies, indigenous studies, Maori studies, sociology, history, gender, linguistics, and ethnomusicology.
Third Sector Review Provides information on the Third Sector in Australia and New Zealand, incuding private not-for-profit, community or voluntary organizations.

Also see: eSocSci featured Journals A list of New Zealand Social Science Journals as curated by eSocSci.

These multidisciplary databases index citations between publications, allowing the user to easily establish connections between articles and ideas.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Article link will provide links to library databases and full-text of many articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.

PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window An international index of psychology literature. It contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 600 journals.
Psychology Video Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to key films in the discipline of Psychology. The collection includes documentaries, interviews, case studies, and psychological experiments.
Scopus This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.

More databases can be found in the Psychology Subject Guide

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) This link opens in a new window Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.
Embase This link opens in a new window A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Health and Wellness (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text materials, abstracts and citations to patient and consumer health information found in journals, magazines, pamphlets and reference works.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.

More databases are listed in the Medicine Subject Guide

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Education Research Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window An online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides access to educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window An online video collection with teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in classrooms, pre-school through secondary. Education in Video covers hundreds of special topics and themes representing many different teaching and learning conditions. Many of the videos include supplementary materials which may be downloaded.

More databases are listed in the Education Subject Guide

Women and Social Movements International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window A collection of primary materials from more than 300 repositories. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Diversity (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.

More databases are listed in the Gender Studies Guide

LexisNexis NZ This link opens in a new window Full-text legislation; case law databases (indexes and full text); and commentary, being the online loose-leaf services. Note: we subscribe to a selection of LexisNexis NZ products, but not to all of them.

Find more databases in the Law Subject Guide

If you are seeking information on the New Zealand Parliament and New Zealand legislation (acts, statutes etc) please go to the NZ Parliament Guide

Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic (Journals) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Subject coverage includes: Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, Social Science.
SAGE Premier 2010 This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
Newspaper Source Plus (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
PressReader This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print versions. NOTE: Only goes back 90 days.
News & Newspapers Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal.

Newspapers - Library Guide Visit the Newspapers guide for more NZ and International newspaper sources, both current and historical.

Social and Community Work: Journals & Databases

How do I search databases better?

Found a citation to an article but cannot get to the full text?