LibGuides: Portuguese: Articles

To find articles on a topic...

Search a range of article databases to find quality research articles on a Portuguese topic, for example:

MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly books, articles and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, from 1926.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1665.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles about Portuguese topics, from 1971.
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts, from 1865.

Google Scholar
Searches the web for articles. Access via the Article Databases page to enable Article Linker.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation databases with over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Search specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes scholarly working papers, forthcoming papers, and an Electronic Paper Collection.

Periodicals Archives Online - PAO
Archive of 215 digitised academic journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from first issue to the end of 2000, or final issue.

Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window
PIO is an international index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1665. Every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals, from 1963. Links to selected articles in back issues in JSTOR.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information of over 100, 000 authors as well as critical essays on literature & links to web sites

Find newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to selected articles in NZ and international newspapers, from 1980.
- 5 user licence
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries. Newspapers, from the last 2 months, are presented exactly as they are in print format.
- 2 user licence

Iberian Newspapers
Link to latest Portuguese news sources from newspapers, magazines and TV.
More Brazilian newspaper resources on the Find Films & Media tab

Find an Article using Library Search

Use Library Search to find a specific article quickly!

Search for the "Title of the Article"
(within quotation marks)

Need some help to find articles?

For help finding articles: two students discussing an assignment

How to Find Journal Articles
PDF guide (480 KB)
Searching for Information
Online SEARCH SKILLS module

What is Article Linker?

Article Linker helps you link to research articles in databases that the University of Otago Library subscribes to.

If an article is not available in full-text, click Article Linker to automatically search these other databases.

You may see Article Linker represented as:

or Otago Article Linker

If you have an article citation...

For example:

Schwartz, Stuart B. "Resistance and Accommodation in Eighteenth-Century Brazil: The Slaves' View of Slavery." Hispanic American Historical Review 57.1 (1977): 69-81. Print.

Search the journal title (e.g. Hispanic American Historical Review) in the Catalogue to see if the Library holds the volume (e.g. 57) and issue (e.g. 1) the article was published in.

Catalogue

The Catalogue lists both print and e-journals.

If you can't find a cited article...

Submit a request to our:

Get It Interloan service

Library users can search for items then create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Article requests are free.