LibGuides: Irish Studies: Articles

Looking for Journal Articles on your Topic?

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database. I recommend the ones listed below for Irish Studies.

Some databases provide the full-text of articles, but sometimes there is only a citation. To access a copy, look for the "Article Linker" button, or try one of the methods described in the column on the right.

Otago Article Linker

Find Articles about Irish Literature

Search these databases with your keywords to find relevant articles on your Irish Literature research topic.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (Literature Online) This link opens in a new window
Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic data on writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Over 300,000 articles on medieval subjects in thirty different languages from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays.
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A literary database of poetry, prose and drama in English. Content includes specialist journals, bibliographic records, and full-text works as well as MLA International Bibliography and The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Note: limited to 4 users.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window
An international index for the humanities and social sciences to contents pages of over 6,000 journals (including 850 literature journals) from their inception to 1995 and separate records for 18 million journal articles.
Literature & Language (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Combined search across all Proquest databases relevant to Language and Literature (English, American Literature, World Literatures, Linguistics), including dissertations and theses on literature and language, and publications on literature and language for researchers of all levels.

Find Articles about Irish History

Search these databases with your keywords to find relevant articles on your Irish History research topic.

Historical Abstracts (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracting for 2,000+ international historical journals. A useful feature is the ability to limit your search to articles covering a particular historical period.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). HA is the leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals. Researchers in history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, gender studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, business, education, music, art and law will find HA indispensable.
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from more than 6,000 peer reviewed journals. Also indexes more than 12,000 publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a range of subjects, including over 245 history journals (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers, including over 60 History Journals.
History Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Combined search across all Proquest databases relevant to history, including dissertations and theses, historical newspapers and publications on history for researchers of all levels.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Lists historical writing (essays in books and journal articles) dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Over 300,000 articles on medieval subjects in thirty different languages from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays.
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window
An international index for the humanities and social sciences to contents pages of over 6,000 journals (including 1000 history journals) from their inception to 1995 and separate records for 18 million journal articles.

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g. Ingman, K. "Nature, Gender and Nation." Irish Studies Review 13, no.4 (2005): 517-530.

There are 4 easy ways to find a copy. These are listed below.

1) Find an Article using Library Search

You can use the Library search box to find an article from a citation.

Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks).

2) Find an Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:

Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
Follow the Otago Article Linker links in your results list
Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.

Google Scholar Tips & Tricks [pdf]

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Google Scholar: Off-Campus Access

3) Find an Article using the Catalogue

You can use the library catalogue to find an article from a citation:

Search the library catalogue for the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics)
Do a Basic Title begins with search and limit to Journals
The journal may be held in print, electonically, or both
Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

Search the Library Catalogue

4) Request a FREE Copy with the "Get It" Interloan service

If you have tried all of the above methods, and the article you need is not available here, you can request a free copy through our "Get It" Interloan service.

Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.