Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are an excellent source of information when starting out with your study. They can help you define terms, get an overview of a topic, and suggest further scholars and sources to explore.
Print versions of these will be on Floor 2 @ the Central LIbrary - check the Call number for a language before checking the shelves.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by 
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by 
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by 
A student's dictionary of language and linguistics
International encyclopedia of linguistics - 4 vols
Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics by 
The Cambridge encyclopedia of the English language, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics : a handbook for language teaching
Encyclopedia of language and education 2nd ed. 8 vols
Encyclopedia of semiotics
Internet Linguistics: a student guide / David Crystal
The Oxford handbook of linguistic typology by 
Atlas of languages of intercultural communication in the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas
Atlas of the world's languagesKeep up to date with a weekly selection of the latest language and linguistics books on display in the Central Library Recent Arrivals area:
Books and other language and linguistics resources are held in a number of libraries on the Dunedin campus including:
|
Call number areas you may wish to browse include: Central Library -
|
 |
Audiovisual resources can be used in Central Library on Floor 2, some group study rooms, or on your laptop.
Search by your Course Code, e.g. Ling231, for textbooks, audiovisual resources, and required and essential readings. Many will be accessible 24/7, labelled E-Reserve.
Try Library Search, or:
Submit your request through our Get It Interloan service.
Library users can search for items then create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
Books interloaned from NZ or Australian libraries are free, but overseas loans are $25.
