LibGuides: NZ Parliament: NZ Government

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

New Zealand Made : Stories from Stuff
A collection of stories, including personal narratives and journalistic articles, collected in 2018.
The treaty of Waitangi: a brief history
Two interactive videos relating to the changes in New Zealand land ownership since 1840. Hosted on Stuff, 2018.

Te Tiriti o Waitangi by Ross Calman and Mark Derby

illustrated by Toby Morris

This comic provides a fresh approach to the story of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. It covers a wide time span, from the arrival of Polynesian explorers to the signing of Te Tiriti, to the New Zealand Wars, and through to the modern-day Treaty settlement process. A special emphasis is put on unpacking the two versions of Te Tiriti and exploring their ongoing significance.

Audio file available here http://instructionalseries.tki.org.nz/Instructional-Series/School-Journal-Story-Library/Te-Tiriti-o-Waitangi.

New Zealand Government

New Zealand Gazette
Weekly official newspaper of the NZ government, online from 20 October 2014 as the authoritative constitutional record. It contains commercial and government notices, covering business proceedings, bankruptcies, land transfer notices, departmental and parliamentary notices.
PDF access from 2000; browsable from 1993. 1839- on microfilm at the Hocken Library; 1878- in print at Law Library 9th floor KG 310.G39.

Beehive - Latest News From the Beehive This link opens in a new window
Media releases, speeches, newsletters and an image gallery.
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet This link opens in a new window
Includes a list of Ministers and their responsibilities, and information about Cabinet Committees.
New Zealand Government Online This link opens in a new window
Search and browse the online information, services and resources provided by New Zealand Government Agencies.
Statistics New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Free search for official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support.
Elections New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Search for enrolment, voting, elections, electorates, education & research
Politics and Government (NZ History Online) This link opens in a new window
Introductory information about New Zealand's political history (includes brief biographies of past Premiers and Prime Ministers).

Engaging with government
Consultations, request government information, have your say, elections, complaints ...

Reference Books

New Zealand government sector directory
At Hocken and Robertson Libraries
Government Publications at the Hocken Collections
The Reference Guide outlines the main government publications held at the Hocken Collections, including significant parliamentary and statistical publications. Most of these items are located in our closed stack but can be requested via the Catalogue or Hocken Desk staff

Databases for New Zealand Government information

Search these databases with your keywords to find relevant articles on your research topic. Some provide only citations for articles, so look for the Article Link button, or check Library Search for fulltext access, or use the Get It Interloan service.

Otago Article Link

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian magazines, newspapers, reference books and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of NZ news and business information content.
findNZarticles This link opens in a new window
Articles by or about New Zealanders from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Index New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from over 400 New Zealand and South Pacific journals and newspapers.
National Business Review 24/7 This link opens in a new window
A separate news service to the print edition, the NBR 24/7 website has been designed to provide a specialist business and finance news service updated on an hourly basis. Users may need to click on “Member Login” at the top right of the screen for access to subscriber only content. If a Login screen appears, click the "Log in" button and do not enter a username/password. The content can also be accessed via the link “to continue reading you must login…”
Newztext This link opens in a new window
Fulltext archive of articles from many of New Zealand's key news and business publications.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format. Note: Library subscription is for 2 simultaneous users.

NZ Parliament: NZ Government

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

New Zealand Government

Reference Books

Databases for New Zealand Government information

Government News feeds