LibGuides: Scottish Studies: Books

Books about Scottish Literature

These books are an excellent starting point for your research on Scottish Literature.

Find Books for your Scottish Research

Find Books Available Here
Find & Request Books from Elsewhere

There are several different ways to use Library Search | Ketu find books that will help with your research. Search using the links below, or watch one of these short videos to learn how!

Video: How to find a specific book
Video: How to find books on a topic

To find books beyond our library:

Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Search for books held in other libraries throughout New Zealand.

To request books we don't currently hold:

Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
Recommend a book
If you'd like the library to purchase a book that we don't currently hold, feel free to recommend it using our online form.

Find More Scottish Books

These websites and bibliographies will help you find even more books about Scottish History and Scottish Literature.

If the books are not available at Otago, you can request them through the Get It Interloan service.

Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.

Bibliography of Scottish Literature
Covers: Early Scottish Literature, Eighteenth Century, Age of Scott, Victorians and Edwardians, Scottish Renaissance, and Scottish Literature since 1945.
Books from Scotland
Lists Scottish books, literature and writing.

MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Lists scholarly books on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. An online demo is available here.
Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Search the 'New Zealand National Bibliographic Database' to search for books held in libraries throughout New Zealand. Request books through the Get It Interloan service (see above).