LibGuides: Nursing (Postgraduate): Journals & Databases

Some key databases for Nursing

These are some key databases relevant to searching for nursing information:

CINAHL (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides access to nursing resources including full-text e-books and journals, Mosby's evidence-based Nursing monographs, clinical overviews, practice guidelines, patient education, clinical trials and MEDLINE® Abstracts. Key content includes drug monographs, clinical topic summaries, videos, images and more.
ClinicalKey Student: Nursing This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey Student Nursing is an interactive education platform providing access to a wide range of nursing content and comprehensive learning tools. Nursing resources include 160+ core textbooks covering specialties from Anatomy and Physiology to Public Health, 24,000+ high resolution images, and video content. The platform offers each user a personalised Bookshelf with highlighting, note-taking, and bookmarking functionality. Study tools include flashcards and collaborative exercises including note sharing.
Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A central access point for searching across the ProQuest health and medicine databases. The collections include health care and biomedical journals as well as evidence-based content, multimedia and dissertations.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and
health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates millions of
articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines,
newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference
works and hundreds of health-related multimedia."
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession - from direct patient care to health care administration - are covered in this collection. The content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. The database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full-text dissertations.

More ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source information
Information from ProQuest,. including search tips.

Searching CINAHL

A guide to searching CINAHL from UOC librarian Rebecca Phibbs

PubMed for Nurses

PubMed
Welcome to PubMed for Nurses. This brief tutorial, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching the biomedical journal literature using PubMed.

Keyword-only Citation databases

These databases can only be searched using keywords (author words).

If you find a great article on your topic, you can use these citation databases to track down articles that cite that particular article. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)

Research tools

SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window
SAGE Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods. Online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, engaging mix of SAGE-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. Covers critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services. SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each of these user groups, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

Key biomedical subject headings databases

These databases can use Subject Headings (e.g. MeSH, Emtree) to assist your searching. They can also be searched with keywords. (Hover over the title to see information about the resource.)

Database Tutorials

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.

Request a FREE Copy with the Interloans service

If you need an item that is not available via a database that the University of Otago subscribes to, or in print form in the library, request a free copy using the Interloan service:

Interloans service
The Interloans service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Nursing (Postgraduate): Journals & Databases

Looking for Journal Articles on your Topic?