A - D - Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources

Alerts

Keeping up to date with new research is important. E-mail alerts can help you do this. Set up an alert in a database for an author, journal, or set of search terms. When new material is added that matches your alert you will be e-mailed.

Keeping up to date with research in your area
Find out how to create email alerts in the Library's most popular databases

Article Databases

Databases are an important tool for research. Most databases allow you to search for journal articles on your topic using a variety of different options including keyword, subject headings, title and author searches. Some databases also contain conference proceedings, e-books, newspaper articles, graphics and images.

Databases Index
Find journal articles within databases, search for citations and locate subject-specific databases.

Article Link

Article Link is available in many databases including Google Scholar if you log in via the Article Databases Index or a Subject Guide. It is usually represented by this image or words like "Otago Article Link". When you find a citation to an article in a database, but no full-text, this tool will link you through to the full-text if it is available in another database.

Citation Indexes

Citation indexes are adatabases that allow you to easily search for citations to specific authors and articles. Some also provide citations to books and book chapters. Use the citations to find more recent literature on the same topic, as well as literature being published in different disciplines. Citations are also a useful measure of an article, book or author’s scholarly impact.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Article linker will provide links to library databases and full-text of many articles.

Research Publishing & Impact Guide
This guide directs you to the key tools for measuring your research impact

Citation Styles

When your supervisor talks about Vancouver, Harvard or Chicago, they are probably not referring to their last holiday. These are three common citation styles as are APA, ACS and MLA. Correct use of a citation style helps avoid plagiarism. Not all sources are easy to cite, especially those that are electronic, unpublished or just plain unusual. The Library’s citation styles page points you towards books and trustworthy websites and manuals that can help.

Referencing / Citation Styles Guide
Information on referencing and what citation style to use for your essay or assignment.

Data Management Plan

Good data management practices can help to:

Ensure data remains complete, reliable, accurate, and retrievable
Support data analysis and re-use
Minimise data loss and duplication
Enable tracking of data from collection to results
Provide data security and prepare for long-term preservation
Facilitate future access to and use of data.

Data Management Plan
The DMP tool helps you create research data management plans to meet University and funding requirements.
Managing Your Research Data Guide
Good research data management is a series of activities that make it easier to locate, access, share, and use data, and it applies to all methodologies for creating or collecting data. Invest time in planning and take action throughout the research data lifecycle to ensure your data is well-managed.

Distance Students Home Delivery Service

Have books posted to you at no charge. Have articles scanned and e-mailed to you at no charge. Contact the Library for research assistance using the 0800 number. Any student enrolled in a distance course or paper is automatically eligible to use the home delivery. Students living outside Dunedin can also apply to use this Service.

Distance Students Guide
This guide contains information on how to get the books and articles you need.

Postgraduate Introduction to Library Services and Resources: A - D