LibGuides: Ecology: Journals & Databases

Recommended Article Databases for Ecology

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant article database. Otago University Library recommends the databases listed below as a good starting point for Ecology students and researchers.

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Access, research and discovery in the life sciences with coverage of nearly 6,000 journal titles and documents from 1,500 international meetings, review articles, books, and unique additional references from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Combines Biosis content with citation indexing to provide comprehensive life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. Coverage 1926+.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
GreenFILE (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Abstracting and indexing for approximately 295,000 records, covering 600 titles, with open access full text for over 4,600 records. Discipline coverage includes agriculture, education, law, health and technology disciplines, and topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Natural Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection is a full-text database supported by a specialized A&I file. It covers comprehensive scholarly output and is managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary. The collection features these three databases:
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Biological Science Database
Oceanic Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A database focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links.
Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Inspec, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record for comprehensive, multidisciplinary results. 1864+
Zoological Record (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of zoological literature from 6,500+ international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports.

Finding journal articles using Library Search | Ketu

You can use Library Search | Ketu to access the full text of an article:

1. You can find an article from a citation by searching for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)

2. You can also find the Journal that the article was published in by searching the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics) in Library Search | Ketu Advanced Search

Select Title contains and material type Journals
The journal may be held in print, electronically, or both
Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

For further help, check out the resources below...

How to Use Library Search | Ketu
Instructional video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.

Accessing the full text of a journal article

Many databases give access to the full text articles, but others provide only citations. With citation-only databases, look for the Article Link button (above) or text. Article Link connects the Library article databases to the Library eJournal collections, so that you can click through to access the full-text of an article, if the LIbrary holds it.

Full text not available?

If the Library doesn't have digital or print access to a journal article, use the Library's Interloans service to request it, and we'll get it for you for free!

Interloans service
The Interloans service is available to all current University staff and students to support research, study and teaching. Most interloans will be supplied to you free of charge.

LibWizard Tutorials; Searching for Information

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.