LibGuides: English: Welcome

Key resources

Some great search tools to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the Journals & Databases tab above in the navigation bar for even more database options.

Literature Online
Criticism and reference material, including articles, essays, biographies and also some literary works. Incorporating the ABELL : Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Database Guide.
Gale Literature
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
Find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes MLA's Directory of Periodicals. Database Guide.
Proquest Literature & Language
Combined search across several Proquest databases relevant to Language and Literature, including dissertations and theses.
JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare
Research Shakespeare’s plays using the Folger Shakespeare Library texts to quickly find scholarship written about them. Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles from the JSTOR archive that reference the line. Truly such stuff as Shakespeare student's dreams are made on.

Literary Encyclopedia
A literary reference work of specially commissioned articles that address texts, authors, cultural movements and historical events around the world and from all literary periods.

Oxford Reference
Digital access to a range of Oxford University Press's reference titles, such as critical subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, companions and handbooks. A great place to start after / instead of Wikipedia.

These databases cover journals from several disciplines, including English Literature.

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the Article Link button to check availability.

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers a range of subjects, including English literature.
JSTOR
Digitized journals, with coverage ranging from as early as 1665. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Periodicals Index Online: PIO
Multidisciplinary index to over 6,000 journals (with 850 literature journals). An excellent resource for finding primary sources, with complete runs of titles indexed (up to 1995). Database Guide.
Project MUSE
Complete, full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals, from over 120 publishers, including many university presses and scholarly societies.

Google Scholar (off-campus access only) This link opens in a new window
JURN This link opens in a new window
A curated academic search-engine. Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses.

These databases specialise in listing articles published in NZ publications. The full-text is not always available, but you can use the information in the citation/reference to track down a copy. Use Library Search | Ketu to see if we hold the journal/newspaper the article was published in, then browse by year, volume, issue, page number to find a copy of the article.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
A full text collection including leading regional and international newspapers, magazines, journals, reference books, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, flags & video.
findNZarticles
Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Index New Zealand
Indexes the content of NZ and Pacific newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Useful for finding articles on contemporary NZ and Pacific authors, that may only be available in print. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings.

New Zealand Literature File This link opens in a new window
A selective list of New Zealand and Pacific authors' work and provides references to biographical and critical material.

Some of these more specialised databases may also be relevant for your research topic.

Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson
A fully searchable collection of Jonson's complete works (modern and annotated or old-spelling transcriptions) and some of the major manuscripts, along with essays, archives, a timeline, music scores, and hundreds of digital images. The interface enables on-screen comparison between versions.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Citations for works in all aspects of medieval studies from 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa (classified by date, subject and location).
Iter Bibliography
Lists research on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), includes citations for books, journal articles, dissertation abstracts, essays in books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, this database includes works of artists, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles documenting the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

Need Help?

There are many ways to get help at the Library

This guide lists key databases and journals you can use for finding articles and books for your assignments. Use keyword and topic searches to find relevant information on your topic.

If you need any help with finding the right information or referencing something correctly, you can contact your Subject Librarian, or use the Self Help guide for tips.

For other questions:

* EXPLORE the Ask Library FAQs, or

* MESSAGE Library staff via LibChat for instant answers during business hours.

You can also:
* VISIT any Library on campus and talk to Library staff
* CALL us on +64 3 479 8910
* EMAIL ask.library@otago.ac.nz with your question

LIBRARY 101

LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.

Special Collections Exhibitions

The University Library Special Collections hosts regular exhibitions at the De Beer Gallery showcasing the collections and celebrating the history and research of the University of Otago. Find out more about our exhibitions, many of which are documented online:

Special Collections Exhibitions
Documenting 20 years of exhibitions at University of Otago Library Special Collections.

Subject Librarian

Genevieve Scanlan

Email Me

Subjects: Economics, English, Irish Studies, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Scottish Studies, Tourism

Diversify The Library

New Books | English | Fiction, poetry and criticism

Related Subject Guides
Other Useful Library Guides

Related Subject Guides

Irish Studies
by Genevieve Scanlan Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 441 views this year
Scottish Studies
by Genevieve Scanlan Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 234 views this year
Hocken Collections Te Uare Taoka o Hākena
by Katherine Milburn Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 697 views this year
Linguistics
by Genevieve Scanlan Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 109 views this year
Theatre Studies
by Marni Boynton Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 696 views this year
Classics
by Kate Knox Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 236 views this year
Gender Studies
by Megan Vaughan Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 426 views this year
History
by Kate Knox Last Updated Jan 26, 2024 286 views this year
Media, Film & Communication
by Amanda Hutchinson Last Updated Sep 24, 2023 429 views this year
Philosophy
by Kate Knox Last Updated Aug 22, 2023 116 views this year
Politics
by Kate Knox Last Updated Aug 29, 2023 185 views this year

Other Useful Library Guides

Self Help
by Scott Venning Last Updated Mar 29, 2024 1081 views this year
Library services for Distance students
by Jacinda Boivin Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 1193 views this year
Managing Your References
by Richard German Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 2031 views this year
Thesis Information
by Thelma Fisher Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 5116 views this year
Research Publishing & Impact
by Thelma Fisher Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 2079 views this year