LibGuides: Physics: Books

Browsing the shelves in the Library

Books and other resources are usually held in :

Science Library

Call number areas you may wish to browse include:

QC1-75................General physics

QC81-114.............Weights and measures

QC120-168.85.......Descriptive and experimental mechanics

QC170-QC197........Atomic physics. Constitution and properties of matter including molecular physics, relativity, quantum theory and solid state physics

QC221-246............Acoustics. Sound

QC251-338.5.........Heat

QC310.15-319.......Thermodynamics

QC350-467...........Optics. Light

QC450-467...........Spectroscopy

QC474-496.9........Radiation physics (General)

QC501-766...........Electricity and magnetism

QC501-721...........Electricity

QC669-675.8........Electromagnetic theory

QC676-678.6........Radio waves (Theory)

QC680..................Quantum Electyrodynamics

QC701-715.4........Electric discharge

QC717.6-718.8.....Plasma physics. Ionized gases

QC750-766...........Magnetism

QC770-798...........Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity

QC793-793.5........Elementary particle physics

QC794.95-798.......Radioactivity and radioactive substances

QC801-809...........Geophysics. Cosmic physics

QC811-849...........Geomagnetism

QC851-999...........Meteorology. Climatology (including the earth's atmosphere)

QC974.5-976........Meteorological optics

QC980-999...........Climatology and weather

QC994.95-999......Weather forecasting

Handbooks and Dictionaries

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 102nd Ed. by John R Rumble (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: ‎0367712601
Publication Date: 2021
A Dictionary of Physics by John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 0199233993
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by Donald Fenna
ISBN: 9780198605225
Publication Date: 2002-10-26
Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants by G. W. C. Kaye; T. H. Laby
Call Number: QC61.K71 1995
ISBN: 0582226295
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology by K. H. J. Buschow (Editor-In-Chief); Robert Cahn (Editor-In-Chief); Merton C. Flemings (Editor-In-Chief); Bernhard Ilschner (Editor-In-Chief); Subhash Mahajan (Editor-In-Chief); Patrick Veyssiere (Editor-In-Chief); Edward J. Kramer (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080431529
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Linda Versteeg-Buschman (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Lucy-Ann McFadden (Editor); Torrence V. Johnson (Editor); Paul R. Weissman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780120885893
Publication Date: 2006-12-14
Encyclopedia of Energy by Cutler J. Cleveland (Editor-In-Chief); Claudia Sheinbaum Pardo (Editor); Per Peterson (Editor); Lee Schipper (Editor); Margaret E. Slade (Editor); Vaclav Smil (Editor); Ernst Worrell (Editor); R. K. Pachauri (Editor); Amory B. Lovins (Editor); Robert Ayres (Contribution by); Robert Costanza (Editor); Jose Goldemberg (Editor); Marija D. Ilic (Editor); Eberhard Jochem (Editor); Robert Kaufmann (Editor); Amory Lovins (Contribution by); Mohan Munasinghe (Editor)
Call Number: TJ163.28 .EJ7
ISBN: 9780121764807
Publication Date: 2004-03-18
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics by Paul Murdin (Editor)
Call Number: QB14.EJ7
ISBN: 9780333750889
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Optics Encyclopedia by Thomas G. Brown (Editor); Katherine Creath (Editor); Herwig Kogelnik (Editor); Michael A. Kriss (Editor); Joanna Schmit (Editor); Marvin J. Weber (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527403202
Publication Date: 2004-02-23

If you can't find the book you want...

Submit a request to our:

Library Interloan Service

Library users can search for items then create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Article requests are free.

Recommend a Book

If you need a book for your research that is not held by our library, please feel free to recommend it with our online form:

Book recommendation form