Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: Journals & Databases

Library Search

Use Library Search | Ketu to find research articles across many databases.

Sign In first for best results!

Search for topic words or the "Title of the Article" (within quotation marks). E.g.:  

Y. J. Lin, K. Jiménez-García, and I. B. Spielman, "Spin–orbit-coupled Bose–Einstein condensates," Nature 471 (7336), 83 (2011).

Or,

Search the title (e.g. Nature) in the Library Catalogue, limited to Journals, to see if the Library holds the volume (e.g. 471) and issue (e.g. 7336, if given) the article was published in. Choose Get It for paper copies or View It for online access.

Databases - General Information

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a database.

Otago University subscribes to hundreds of databases, but the ones to the right are a good start for Psychology students and researchers. Thousands of journals are indexed on these databases, and they contain millions of indexed articles. Most databases will have 'search help', or a 'search tips' section on their websites, but if you want help using the databases effectively, feel free to contact your subject librarian. 

Databases often give access to full text content, but the amount of full text content available can vary. Other databases just have bibliographic information like the title, author(s), journal of publication (with the volume, issue and page numbers), and year of publication.

You can search for the full text of an article, even if it is not available on the database you are searching, by using the 'Article Link' tool. See the 'Article Link' box below to find out more.

If 'Article Link' does not find a full text version of the article you are after, try searching the journal title on Library Search | Ketu, and if we don't hold it, you can still get it through the library's interloans service. See the 'Can't find a resource?' box at the bottom of this page for details.

Databases that will to help you find articles for Physics

Use keyword searches to find articles on your research topic with these great databases! 

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the   Article Link button to check availability.

These databases cover journals from several disciplines, including English Literature.

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the   Article Link button to check availability.

Quickly Find a Specific Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:
  • Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
  • Look for Otago Article Link in your results list to access the article through our library databases
  • NOTE: You may need to adjust your Google Scholar settings to display these links under Library Links find and then select University of Otago - Otago Article Link.

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Google Scholar Search

Electronic Collections