Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: In the Library: Book and journal collections

This guide brings together important resources for studies in Education and Teaching. These resources include book collections, online article databases & journals, major reference works, and more.

Reserve collection (Ground floor)

Items in the Library Reserve collections are selected by course lecturers as important resources for students to read / refer to. The Robertson Library Reserve collection also contains resources for Otago Polytechnic courses so if you have trouble finding what you need, please ask Library staff at the nearby Help desk.

  • Books are 2-hour loan
  • DVDs are 3- hours 
  • Finding, borrowing and booking items on Reserve [video]
  • Remember to issue and return items from the Reserve collection. Use the self-checkout machine in the Reserve area or ask Library staff.

Photo of the Reserve Collection indicating the Self-checkout Machine and Hold shelf

Education journal collection (ground floor)

Education journal collections are held in the Robertson Library and the Southland campus Library.  There is also a large number of education journals, and journal articles available online through the education databases and Library Search | Ketu.

Picture of the location of the Education journal collection in the Robertson Library

Main education collection (first floor) for books, reports, dvds and more

At the top of the stairs, follow the stacks of books on your right until the stack labels change from Polytech collection to University collection. The University collection is the Education collection in the Robertson Library.

Teaching Support collection

The Robertson Library and the Southland Campus Library have great collections to support your studies in education and teaching. The Teaching Support collection in the Robertson Library is located on the 1st floor (turn left at the top of the stairs).

Resources include:

  • Big books (fiction and non fiction)
  • First books (fiction and non fiction)
  • Picture books (fiction and non fiction / literature)
  • Ministry of Education resources
  • Readers  (multiple copies, English and Te reo Māori)
  • Non-fiction (these range from first books to secondary school resources) 
  • Children's and Young Adult fiction / literature
  • Curriculum support resources - for developing lessons and taking into the classroom
  • School Journal series - the complete series is in the Robertson Library Education Journals collection (ground floor).

Relevant collections in other Libraries (Dunedin Campus)

Central Library

BF

Psychology (e.g. developmental psychology (child/human development), pediatric psychology, social psychology)

DU

New Zealand – History; Maori  resources

GV

Physical education & training publications 

H

Social Sciences (e.g. Social Anthropology, Sociology, Gender studies)

MT

Music - instruction and study

N

Fine Arts

PN

Performing arts, theatre, drama in education, drama – study and teaching

Science Library

Q

All areas of science excluding Medicine

T

Technology (includes Handicrafts – arts & crafts; Home economics)