Oral Health: Multimedia
- Academic Video Online : Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of videos with thousands of titles and more added each month that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers to analyse unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors of videos around the world.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy presents more than 300, 3D rotational gross anatomy videos featuring real cadaver specimens. The specimens have not been embalmed and therefore retain the colour, texture and mobility of the living body.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Comprehensive access to entire the Elsevier medical and surgical library of content: over 1000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
- Dental Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window A video encyclopedia of dentistry and dental technique, delivering instant online access to hundreds of high-definition videos.
- e-Anatomy: The Interactive Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Atlas of human anatomy: cross-sectional anatomy, gross anatomy, radiological anatomy. Provides medical imaging and pictures of head and neck, thorax abdomen and pelvis, limbs, and spine.
- eTV This link opens in a new window Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register: select University of Otago, use University staff or student email address only, password will be sent to email. Thereafter login requires registered email address/password.
- Health Sciences (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Online collection videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields—including counseling & therapy, dentistry, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.
- JoVE Biology Collection This link opens in a new window The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies. The Biology collection includes the following sections: General, Neuroscience, Immunology & Infection, Clinical & Translational Medicine, and Behavior.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. The Library subscribes to a selection of titles from this collection.
- ClinicalKey image search ClinicalKey contains over 1200 medical textbooks and 600 journals in electronic format, including all the images contained in these sources. These images can be downloaded to PowerPoint for use in presentations. To make presentations, you will need to create a personal account with Elsevier: click on the Register button on the ClincalKey landing page, and complete the form (you will need to fill in this form on campus, from a University network-enabled computer, only once). You can then log in from any computer (including off-campus).
- ClinicalKey Presentation Maker This tipsheet explains how images from ClinicalKey can be downloaded to PowerPoint for use with teaching or presentations.
To find multimedia content using Library Search|Ketu
You can use Library Search|Ketu to search for multimedia including images, photographs, video, audio and musical recordings. Just enter your topic into the search box on the main Library homepage.
Use Tweak My Results to restrict your search results to multimedia content types, e.g., Images, Videos.
Google image search
Google image search
Google is a wonderfully rich source of images. However, most of the images found on Google are copyright-restricted. To find images that can be used without breaching copyright, search Google (above) for your chosen topic, then click the Images link, then Tools, Usage Rights and select an appropriate filter:
Please remember to attribute (reference) your image source.