It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes the entire Archives New Zealand historical film collection. First-time users must register: select University of Otago, use University staff or student email address only, password will be sent to email. Thereafter login requires registered email address/password.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes TV recordings of programmes from over 30 domestic and international television channels, the entire Archives New Zealand historical film collection along with other educational content in many subject areas, live TV channels in English and other languages. Media hosting is available where videos and related materials may be uploaded to the eTV Library for online access by staff, students, and the wider educational community.
NZ Primary Source Collections
Many of these Archival Collections include digitized Primary Sources that are freely available online.
The official 28th Māori Battalion website includes a batallion roll, photos, video and audio, and features an interactive map that follows the Battalion’s war trail from its departure from New Zealand in 1940 to its return in 1946 .
Collect words, pictures and sounds that tell us about the history and cultures of the people of New Zealand and the Pacific.
New Zealand’s national documentary heritage collections, including both published and unpublished items, are held in the Alexander Turnbull Library.
The Alexander Turnbull Library is a 'library within a library'. Established in 1920 after Alexander Horsburgh Turnbull gifted his collection to the nation in 1918, its collections and services are now housed within the National Library building.
An authoritative source of images depicting New Zealand and Pacific culture and history with a particular emphasis on the Auckland region including photographs, prints, drawings, posters and paintings.
Digitised despatches and reports relating to New Zealand from selected volumes of the British Parliamentary Papers. Includes reports, statutes, correspondence and other documentation, beginning in the 1830s.
Over 25,000 cartoons (originals and copies), from the 1860s to the present. The great majority are by New Zealand cartoonists. They cover politics, social issues, economics, sport, culture, history, international issues, etc.
A database of images from the collections of the National Library of New Zealand. Incorporates Timeframes
Heritage images from the Alexander Turnbull Library, at the National Library of New Zealand. Currently Timeframes contains over 20,000 heritage images and is growing every day. You can gain access to the images and information about them. The Timeframes database includes items of cultural value to Māori people and other New Zealanders.
The National Collection of War Art has been digitised here to make images representing New Zealanders and their war experiences more widely available.
The collection includes portraits, battle scenes, landscapes and abstract works, depicting the men and women who served New Zealand in times of war, and the arenas in which they served. The collection dates from World War One, when Official War Artists were first appointed to provide a record of New Zealand’s involvement in the conflict. War Artists were again appointed during World War Two, serving in both Europe and the Pacific theatre of operations. The collection also includes works from other military deployments involving New Zealand forces.
The research guides available on these sites will help you find Primary Sources for a wide range of topics:
A biographical database of New Zealanders who have served in the military. Some records are very detailed (including photographs, obituaries, diary excerpts and letters) others have only minimal information.