Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Article Databases for Zoology
The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant article database. Otago University Library recommends the databases listed below as a good starting point for Zoology students and researchers.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Access, research and discovery in the life sciences with coverage of nearly 6,000 journal titles and documents from 1,500 international meetings, review articles, books, and unique additional references from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Combines Biosis content with citation indexing to provide comprehensive life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. Coverage 1926+.
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, figures and tables within articles, and the bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and patents.
Zoological Record (Web of Science)
Provides comprehensive coverage of zoological literature from 6,500+ international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
Multidisciplinary and citation databases
These databases can only be searched using keywords (author words).
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use these citation databases to track down articles that cite that particular article.
Web of Science Core Collection (Subscribed resource)
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. About 13,000 titles are included. Coverage from 1900-present.
Scopus (subscribed resource)
Scopus is a very large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, books and conference proceedings. It covers over 23,000 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities, Though it includes much older content, it reliably covers from 1970-present.
Google Scholar (open access)
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Searching for Information
Hone your information research skills with this basic refresher on how to search for information effectively.
Finding journal articles using Library Search | Ketu
You can use Library Search | Ketu to access the full text of an article:
1. You can find an article from a citation by searching for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)
2. You can also find the Journal that the article was published in by searching the Title of the Journal Library Search | Ketu Advanced Search
- Select Title and material type Journals
- The journal may be held in print, electonically, or both
- Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers
For further help, check out the resources below...
Full text not available?
If the Library doesn't have digital or print access to a journal article, use the Library's Interloans service to request it, and we'll get it for you for free!
If you have a citation for a conference paper, but cannot find the fulltext, you can submit an interloan request for the paper and we will try to get you a copy.