Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
Recommended books, eBook databases and searching beyond Otago: use the headings below to navigate
Reference books are great places to start when learning about a new topic or creating a search strategy. The titles below are recommended, but not inclusive.
These databases contain ebooks with Theology content. Many of these ebooks can also be found searching Library Search | Ketu.
Brill Online Books This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 recent e-books in the humanities and social sciences in the following collections: Asian Studies; Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity; Classical Studies; European History and Culture; Middle East and Islamic Studies; Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy; Social Sciences.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new window
A collection of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Protestant writings which includes the principal works of the most eminent writers of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras, and also those of lesser-known authors of the period.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new window
This collection includes hundreds of seminal works. It represents the full range of ideas and opinions that sparked and sustained Catholic reform during the sixteenth- and seventeenth-centuries.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Academic peer-reviewed books from 33 publishers.
ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Offers content across all subject areas from major academic publishers worldwide. Access to non-owned content can be requested online. ebooks can be read online or downloaded for offline access for up to 7 days using Adobe Digital Editions.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion This link opens in a new window
Providing quick and easy access to award-winning scholarship, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) offers access to thousands of academic monographs, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
SpringerLink ebooks - Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Springer’s eBook collection in Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, with over 250 books published annually.
UPCC Book Collections (Project MUSE) This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE ebooks are from university presses and scholarly publishers. 2012 collections available are Archaeology and Anthropology; Film, Theater and Performing Arts; Global Cultural Studies; Higher Education; History; Literature; Philosophy and Religion; Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction; Political Science and Policy Studies.
Many books for Religion begin with the call numbers BT to BV and are shelved on the first floor of the Central Library. Many more books with related and/or specific topics can be found throughout the Library's collections. Find them by searching Library Search | Ketu and then browse the Virtual Bookshelf to find other around the same topic area
Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new window
Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
Found a citation to a book but it is not in the Otago collection?
If you need a book that is not available in print or as an ebook at this library, request a copy using the Interloan service.
Find out more about the Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
All copies are FREE.
All loans from NZ and Australia are FREE.
DATABASES FOR FINDING THEOLOGY BOOK REVIEWS
If you're looking for reviews of a specific book, the best way to find them is to search these databases for the Book Title and/or Author, and look for a way to limit your results to Book Reviews.