It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theology: Journals & Databases
This guide presents key resources for staff and students' research
JSTORProvides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
Project MUSEFull-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
Religion Database (ProQuest)Contains primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations.
Religion & Philosophy CollectionThis database indexes journals on religious history, biblical studies, epistemology, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Some full text but mostly reference and abstract only.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecas (TLG online)A comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Each user must register for a user profile to access the full corpus via the login.
Loeb Classical LibraryCreate an individual ‘My Loebs’ account using the ‘Create Profile’ link on the Loeb site to utilise the advanced features of the digital Loeb Classical Library including saving searches, creating bookmarks and annotations.
Informit CompleteIncludes access to the followings databases: Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, Health Collection, Engineering Collection, Business Collection, Australian Public Affairs - Full Text, AGIS Plus Text, A+ Education, as well as Informit Indexes (over 70). Provides access to core and unique research from Australia, New Zealand and the wider Asia Pacific region.
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost)Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
Periodicals Index Online: PIOPIO is an international index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1665. Every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
Periodicals Archive Online Foundation CollectionThe PAO Foundation Collection is an archive of 215 digitised academic journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from first issue to the end of 2000, or final issue (whichever is first).
ProQuest CentralA leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
TroveA discovery service focused on Australia, Australians, and items found in Australian collecting institutions. Provides a single point of access to resources currently discoverable via the National Library of Australia's multiple discovery services, and to digitised material freely available online anywhere in the world.
Abstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s.
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre PlusCombines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions.
DigitalNZAims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.
Journal of New Zealand StudiesThe Journal of New Zealand Studies is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal published by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. Papers are welcome from any discipline. They should have a New Zealand focus, or be comparative with a strong New Zealand element.
Relegere studies in religion and reception.Relegere: Studies in Religion and Reception is an independent, open-access, peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of innovative research in reception history, broadly conceived, within and across religious traditions.
Stimulus: The New Zealand Journal of Christian Thought & PracticeStimulus, the New Zealand Journal of Christian Thought and Practice, is published by Laidlaw College three times a year. As its name implies, Stimulus provides provocative and challenging material for thoughtful readers, drawing on a wide variety of material, from authors outside of Laidlaw College, as well as from our own faculty. The major articles in each issue (as distinct from reviews and columns) are peer-reviewed.
British Politics and Society (NCCO)From Nineteenth Century Collections Online, British Politics and Society includes tens of thousands of primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the 19th century. Topics covered include British domestic and foreign policy, the working class, trade unions, Chartism, utopian socialism, public protest, radical movements, the cartographic record, political reform, education, family relationships, religion, and leisure. Consisting of more than 1.7 million pages, collections are from a variety of institutions, including the British Library, Oxford University and The National Archives, Kew.
Digital Karl Barth LibraryThe collection features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe. Published under the TVZ imprint, this definitive edition of Barth's works in German currently comprises more than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. Also slated for inclusion in The Digital Karl Barth Library is Barth's magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant TextsA collection of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Protestant writings which includes the principal works of the most eminent writers of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras, and also those of lesser-known authors of the period.
Digital Library of the Catholic ReformationThis collection includes hundreds of seminal works. It represents the full range of ideas and opinions that sparked and sustained Catholic reform during the sixteenth- and seventeenth-centuries.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineFull text of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, plus important works from the Americas, published between 1701 and 1800.
Full text of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, plus important works from the Americas, published between 1701 and 1800. Complements EEBO (Early English Books Online), which covers the period up to 1700
Marsden Online ArchiveThe Marsden Online Archive brings together the outstanding archival materials of Hocken Collections, excellent transcriptions by Gordon Parsonson, powerful search tools, and a range of contextualising information within a user-friendly interface. It will not only transform how researchers approach the history of cross-cultural contact in New Zealand, but will also allow teachers to immerse their students in a truly compelling and drama-filled set of sources that capture the richness and complexity of the past.
Collections are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. The first eight collections are Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: The World through the Lens; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks.