Theology: Māori Resources
Kaitiaki Mātauraka Māori
Kākahu Banks
Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Pūkenga, Ngāti Ranginui
Email: kakahu.banks@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0)3 471 6321
She can help with:
- Finding and learning about mātauraka Māori and taoka Māori in our collections across the university libraries and at Hocken Collections, as well as primary and secondary sources for your assignments.
- Help you navigate the two catalogue systems: Hākena (for unpublished materials held at Hocken Collections) , and Library Search | Ketu (for published materials).
- She can also assist you in research about your whakapapa.
Click here to learn more about the various types of taoka held at the Hocken Collections.
Engagement advisors
The University and its Library system can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.
Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz
Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz
Māori Theological Scholarship
- NGĀ TUHINGA WHAKAPONO O NGĀ TANGATA MĀORI MĀORI THEOLOGICAL SCHOLARSHIP WAITANGI EDITION Te tuaono o Hui-tanguru 2023 6 February
This is the fourth edition of publications by Māori on the subject of theology, released as part of Waitangi celebrations for 2023. The purpose of this resource is to gather into one document published material on the subject of theology by Māori.
This is an EXCELLENT resource!
Recommended Resources
Multiple copies of key textbooks are held at most Otago campus libraries. Click on the link to see current availability. Use Library Search | Ketu to find more.
Ki Te Whaiao: an introduction to Māori culture and society by Publication Date: 2004This book describes traditional and contemporary Maori society and its interaction with Pakeha society since first contact. It gives expression to the voices and words of Maori scholars and those informed by their world-view.
Tikanga Māori: living by Māori values by An authoritative and accessible introduction to tikanga Maori. It is essential reading for all who seek to understand the correct Maori ways of doing things as they were in the past, as they are in the present--and as they may yet be.
Te Ao Hurihuri: aspects of MāoritangaAn authoratitive account of te ao Maori written in the 1970's during a period when there were few Maori voices heard in the public debate on the relevance and role of Maoritanga in the modern world. Edited by Michael King.
The Woven Universe: selected writings of Rev. Māori MarsdenISBN: 9780473079161Publication Date: 2003The Woven Universe brings together Māori Marsden’s substantial statements on Māori philosophy, theology and the Māori worldview. The collection includes his seminal essay, God, Man and Universe: A Māori View and an extract is also included from his final seminar delivered at Te Wānanga-o-Raukawa in Ōtaki.- Māori Theology byPersonal website of the late Michael Shirres, a Dominican priest. Māori culture and Māori religion today, at the time of and before colonisation.
- StimulusStimulus, the New Zealand Journal of Christian Thought and Practice, is published by Auckland's Laidlaw College three times a year. It provides provocative and challenging material for thoughtful readers, drawing on a wide variety of material.
- AlterNativeAn International Journal of Indigenous Peoples published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga
- He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific DevelopmentArticles reporting on the political, social, cultural, linguistic & educational development of Māori & Pacific peoples.
- Journal of the Polynesian SocietyIndigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples, missionaries and scholars including social/cultural anthropologists, archaeologists, historians, linguists and physical/biological anthropologists working in Micronesia and Melanesia, and Polynesia.
- Journal of the Royal Society of New ZealandPapers covering indigenous natural history and environmental sciences including archaeology, conservation, ecology, evolution, palaeontology and soil sciences.
- Kōtuitui: New Zealand Journal of Social Sciences OnlineKōtuitui aims to showcase the increasing number of collaborative research endeavours across the social sciences. Although of particular relevance to New Zealand, the journal’s subject matter is of worldwide relevance and interest to researchers in universities, research institutes, and other centres. The Maori name ‘Kōtuitui’ means ‘interweaving’, and reflects the interdisciplinary nature of the journal.
- Early New Zealand Books This link opens in a new windowProvides the keyword-searchable text of significant books published about New Zealand in the nineteenth century. Original texts have been sourced from Special Collections/Kohikohinga Motuhake in the University of Auckland Library.
- Transactions and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New Zealand This link opens in a new windowPapers of historical scientific research, including research by James Hector, William Colenso, Charles Fleming, Thomas Hocken, and Ernest Rutherford covering a wide range of subjects including science, ethnography, agriculture, history and literature.
- Index New Zealand This link opens in a new windowNew Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
A few good starting points to learning about the peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy and society of Aotearoa:
For more in-depth reading and research:
- Te Puni Kōkiri (Ministry of Māori Development)Ministry for Māori Development publications relating to various aspects of Māoritanga.
- New Zealand Electronic Text Centre (NZETC) This link opens in a new windowA searchable online archive of New Zealand texts and images drawn from New Zealand archives and institutions.
Te Aka a Tāwhaki
Te Aka a Tāwhaki is a collection of Māori materials located on the ground floor of the Central Library.
This small collection houses core Māori resources that are required readings for many courses across the University.
These items must be used in the Library; you can search for duplicate borrowable copies held in other libraries on campus via Library Search | Ketu.
The collection was established in collaboration with Te Tumu and acknowledges the holistic dimension of Mātauranga Māori by bringing together in one space a collection of core Māori resources across a range of disciplines.