LibGuides: Māori Studies: Iwi & Whakapapa

Recommended Resources

Te Kāhui Māngai (Directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations)
Gives information on iwi identified in the Māori Fisheries Act 2004, and those iwi/hapū that have begun the process of negotiating settlement of their historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.
more...less...
This includes their rohe, hapū, marae, and the organisations whose mandates to represent these iwi/hapū have been recognised by the New Zealand Government.
Māori Maps
Provides a nationwide map of marae, with photos of each marae, contact and background information, and photographs.
more...less...
There are also restricted access areas that marae can use to store their data and photos.

Iwidex This link opens in a new window
Index to tribal history, tikanga-a-iwi, whakapapa, waka, traditions, waiata, haka, tribal whenua, maunga, marae, carving, weaving.

Index of Māori Names
Māori names of people, boundaries, canoes, trees, landmarks and geographical locations referred to in books & journals.
more...less...
From unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933).
Māori New Zealanders: Iwi
Geographical & historical information on iwi listed on Te Ara, Encyclopedia of NZ.
NZSG Māori Interest Group
Māori Interest Group from the New Zealand Society of Genealogists.
more...less...
Can offer advice for researching Māori whakapapa through accumulated knowledge of research, compilations of books and resources.
Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
Official Ngāi Tahu Website
Whakapapa Club
Resources for finding information, indexes, lists of names and links.

Māori in NZ On Screen
Television, film, and music videos produced in NZ.
Waka Huia on Youtube
Episodes from the long running television series presented in Te Reo.
Ngā Taonga: Sound & Vision
New Zealand’s moving image and sound archive.

Digital NZ
Millions of NZ items from the digital stores of libraries, museums, archives, communities, and government.
Hocken Snapshop
A digital sample of photographs held at Hocken. You can print or download any of these images for personal use or research.
Lindauer Online
Celebrated portraits of 19th century Māori leaders.
OUR Heritage
Pictures and photographs from the University of Otago's collections.
more...less...
Content includes paintings and sketches by prominent New Zealand artists, historical photos and films of the University, and material that has been shown in exhibitions.

Heritage Images Online This link opens in a new window
Photograph and map collections from Auckland City Libraries. Includes portraits, architecture, advertising, maritime history, fashion, sports.

Whakapapa Research at Hocken Collections

Hocken is a reference-only research library, archive and gallery.

The collections celebrate the histories, cultures and natural environments of Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica with special emphasis on southern New Zealand.

Search for images, photographs and pictures held at Hocken on Hākena.

Guide to researching whakapapa at Hocken

StatsNZ

Stats NZ provides overviews of Aotearoa and its communities with facts, tables, and graphs about places, iwi, ethnic groups, and key topics, with many in both English and Te Reo.

Here are some recommended links:

Ki te Ao Mārama - statistics about Māori, from a Māori perspective, published in 2016

Speakers of Te Reo Māori

Māori Stats NZ - official data, reports, measures and products relevant to Māori well-being and development

2018 Census information: