LibGuides: Botany: Botany 303

Resources

The Natural History of Southern New Zealand by R. Ewan Fordyce (Editor); Alan Mark (Editor); Keith Probert (Editor); Colin Townsend (Editor); John Darby (Editor); Neville Peat (Foreword by); Allan J. Kynaston (Illustrator)
Call Number: QH197.5 .N878 Science Library
ISBN: 1877133515
Publication Date: 2004
Ghosts of Gondwana : the history of life in New Zealand by George W. Gibbs
Call Number: QH197.5 .GE19 2016 Science Library
ISBN: 0947503080
Publication Date: 2016
Field guide : Stewart Island plants by Hugh D. Wilson (Hugh Dale), 1945-
Call Number: QK463.9. WQ94 Science Library
ISBN: 0958329907
Publication Date: 1982
A living New Zealand forest by Bob Brockie
Call Number: QK938.F6 BV16
ISBN: 186953039X
Publication Date: 1992
Flora of New Zealand
Call Number: eBook (open access)
From Landcare Research

Agricultural research and Nitrous Oxide mitigation

Simon PL, de Klein CAM, Worth W, Rutherford AJ, Dieckow J 2019.
The efficacy of Plantago lanceolata for mitigating nitrous oxide emissions from cattle urine patches. Science of the Total Environment 691: 430-441.
de Klein CAM, van der Weerden TJ, Luo J, Cameron KC, Di HJ 2019.
A review of plant options for mitigating nitrous oxide emissions from pasture-based systems. New Zealand Journal of Agricultural Research.
de Klein C, Eckard R, van der Weerden T 2010.
Nitrous oxide emissions from the nitrogen cycle in livestock agriculture: Estimation and mitigation. Nitrous Oxide and Climate Change. Pp. 107-142

Citizen Science:

Sullivan JJ, Molles LE 2016
Biodiversity monitoring by community-based restoration groups in New Zealand. Ecological Management and Restoration 17(3): 210-217.

Cultural values in restoration ecology:

Henwood W, Moewaka Barnes H, Brockbank T, Gregory W, Hooper K, McCreanor T 2016.
Ko Tāngonge Te Wai: Indigenous and Technical Data Come Together in Restoration Efforts. EcoHealth 13(4): 623-632.
Kitson JC, Cain AM, Johnstone MNTH, Anglem R, Davis J, Grey M, Kaio A, Blair SR, Whaanga D 2018.
Murihiku Cultural Water Classification System: enduring partnerships between people, disciplines and knowledge systems. New Zealand Journal of Marine and Freshwater Research 52(4): 511-525.
Reyes-García V, Fernández-Llamazares Á, McElwee P, Molnár Z, Öllerer K, Wilson SJ, Brondizio ES 2019.
The contributions of Indigenous Peoples and local communities to ecological restoration. Restoration Ecology 27(1): 3-8.
Clapcott J, Ataria J, Hepburn C, Hikuroa D, Jackson AM, Kirikiri R, Williams E 2018
Mātauranga Māori: shaping marine and freshwater futures. New Zealand Journal of Marine and Freshwater Research 52(4): 457-466.
Uprety Y, Asselin H, Bergeron Y, Doyon F, Boucher JF 2012.
Contribution of traditional knowledge to ecological restoration: Practices and applications. Ecoscience 19(3): 225-237.

Mining and floral restoration:

Craw D, Rufaut CG, Hammit S, Clearwater SG, Smith CM 2007.
Geological controls on natural ecosystem recovery on mine waste in southern New Zealand. Environmental Geology 51(8): 1389-1400.
Rufaut CG, Craw D, Foley A 2014.
Mitigation of Acid Mine Drainage via a Revegetation Programme in a Closed Coal Mine in Southern New Zealand. Mine Water and the Environment 34(4): 464-477.
Sullivan JJ, Meurk C, Whaley KJ, Simcock R 2009.
Restoring native ecosystems in urban Auckland: Urban soils, isolation, and weeds as impediments to forest establishment. New Zealand Journal of Ecology 33(1): 60-71.

Plant and Food Research:

Lawrence SA, Armstrong CB, Patrick WM, Gerth ML 2017.
High-throughput chemical screening identifies compounds that inhibit different stages of the Phytophthora agathidicida and Phytophthora cinnamomi life cycles. Frontiers in Microbiology 8(JUL).
Brennan NJ, Larsen L, Lorimer SD, Perry NB, Chapin EL, Werk TL, Henry MJ, Hahn DR 2006.
Fungicidal sesquiterpene dialdehyde cinnamates from Pseudowintera axillaris. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 54(2): 468-473.
Lawrence SA, Burgess EJ, Pairama C, Black A, Patrick WM, Mitchell I, Perry NB, Gerth ML 2019.
Mātauranga-guided screening of New Zealand native plants reveals flavonoids from kānuka (Kunzea robusta) with anti-Phytophthora activity. Journal of the Royal Society of New Zealand.
Wicaksono WA, Sansom CE, Jones EE, Perry NB, Monk J, Ridgway HJ 2018.
Arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi associated with Leptospermum scoparium (mānuka): effects on plant growth and essential oil content. Symbiosis 75(1): 39-50.
Wicaksono WA, Jones EE, Sansom CE, Perry NB, Monk J, Black A, Ridgway HJ 2017.
Indigenous bacteria enhance growth and modify essential oil content in Leptospermum scoparium (mānuka). New Zealand Journal of Botany 55(3): 306-317.

Botanic Gardens and Arboreta and urban restoration:

Arnet M, Santos B, Brockerhoff EG, Pelser PB, Ecroyd C, Clemens J 2015.
Importance of arboreta for ex situ conservation of threatened trees. Biodiversity and Conservation 24(14): 3601-3620.
Aronson J 2014.
The Ecological Restoration Alliance of Botanic Gardens: A New Initiative Takes Root. Restoration Ecology 22(6): 713-715.
Clarkson BD, Kirby CL 2016.
Ecological restoration in urban environments in New Zealand. Ecological Management and Restoration 17(3): 180-190.

Soils

VSA guide for soils (Landcare Research Maanaki Whenua)

Soil properties for plant growth by Hewitt, Allan
Call Number: eBook (open access)
Publication Date: 2004
A guide to recognising soil attributes relevant to plant growth and plant selectio

Department of Conservatoin (DoC)
DOC is the government agency charged with conserving New Zealand’s natural and historic heritage.
AgResearch
"Our capabilities are vast, from seeds to pest control, high value foods and farming systems. Facilitating the smallest rural project to the largest overseas research project. We produce science and technology projects for the benefit of the agricultural sector and New Zealand."
Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research
Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research is one of seven Crown Research Institutes (CRIs) formed in 1992. CRIs function as independent companies but are owned by, and accountable to, the New Zealand Government.
Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research Allan Herbarium
The Allan Herbarium contains species from around the world but specialises in indigenous and exotic plants of the New Zealand region and the South Pacific.
Plant & Food Research Rangahau Ahumāra Kai
Plant & Food Research is a New Zealand-based science company providing research and development that adds value to fruit, vegetable, crop and food products
Dunedin City Council Kaunihera a-rohe o Ōtepoti
Otago Regional Council
Otago Regional Council is responsible for managing Otago’s land, air and water resources on behalf of the community.
Dunedin Botanic Garden
The Botanic Garden celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2013, marking its position as New Zealand’s first botanic garden. It occupies 30.4 hectares in North Dunedin. The Garden has more than 6,800 plant species.
Sinclair Wetlands Te Nohoaka o Tukiauau
n the early 18th century, local chief Tukiauau and his Ngāti Mamoe iwi, pursued by Ngāi Tahu, took temporary refuge on Whakaraupuka (Ram Island) setting up their campsite (nohoaka). His name remains attached to the wetlands, while the swamp complex remained an important food basket and precious place (taonga) for later peoples.

Plant ID lucid keys and databases:

• Landcare Research (Manaaki Whenua) Identification Keys and Guides to Plants
NZ Flora
New Zealand Plants Ngā Tipu o Aotearoa
Systematics Collections Data
The Systematics Collections Data (SCD) website is intended to provide access to specimen and culture data from the Allan Herbarium (CHR), the International Collection of Micro-organisms from Plants (ICMP), the National New Zealand Flax Collection, the New Zealand Arthropod Collection (NZAC) and the New Zealand Fungal and Plant Disease Collection (PDD
Australasian Virtual Herbarium

Soils Properties :

New Zealand Soil Classification (NZSC)

Dunedin Town Belt and Dunedin Town Belt Biodiversity Project

Dunedin Urban Regeneration
Dunedin Town Belt Management Plan
"Reserves have a major role in contributing to the main-tenance and enhancement of amenity and recreation values in the City by providing attractive open spaces and facilities for the enjoyment of active and passive recreational activities by both residents and visitors."

Soil formation

How soil is formed, horizons etc
In this video Paul Andersen explains how soils are formed and classified. Weathering of rock

Agricultural Research and Greenhouse Gas mitigation

iNaturalist.org is a joint initiative of the California Academy of Sciences and the National Geographic Society

Help and guides on how to post, explore and identify observations in the Getting Started section of: https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/help
Guidelines for using iNaturalist (acceptable online behaviour) in the Community Guidelines section of: https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/help
‘How to’ Video tutorials: https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/video+tutorials
See local iNaturalist project data at https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/dunedin-townbelt-biodiversity (must be logged in to iNaturalist to view this).

LibWizard Database tutorials

These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.