Skip to main content

Psychology: Journals & Databases

Library Search

Use Library Search | Ketu (the library catalogue) to find research articles across many databases.

Sign In first for best results!

Search for topic words or the "Title of the Article" (within quotation marks). E.g.:  

Halberstadt, J., & Catty, S. (2008). Analytic thought disrupts familiarity-based decision making. Social Cognition, 26(6), 755-765. https://doi.org/10.1521/soco.2008.26.6.755

Or,

Search the title (e.g. Social Cognition) in Library Search | Ketu, to see if the Library holds the volume (e.g. 26) and issue (e.g. 6) the article was published in. Click 'Available at' or 'View details' under the record for more information and to access the resource.

Databases - General Information

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a database.

Otago University subscribes to hundreds of databases, but the ones to the right are a good start for Psychology students and researchers. Thousands of journals are indexed on these databases, and they contain millions of indexed articles. Most databases will have 'search help', or a 'search tips' section on their websites, but if you want help using the databases effectively, feel free to contact your subject librarian. 

Databases often give access to full text content, but the amount of full text content available can vary. Other databases just have bibliographic information like the title, author(s), journal of publication (with the volume, issue and page numbers), and year of publication.

You can search for the full text of an article, even if it is not available on the database you are searching, by using the 'Article Link' tool. See the 'Article Link' box below to find out more.

If 'Article Link' does not find a full text version of the article you are after, try searching the journal title on Library Search | Ketu, and if we don't hold it, you can still get it through the library's interloans service. See the 'Can't find a resource?' box at the bottom of this page for details.

What is Article Link?

Article Link helps you access fulltext research articles in databases that the University of Otago Library subscribes to, and Google Scholar. 

You may see Article Link represented as:             

            or  Article Link

Can't find a resource?

If we don't hold it in our library, we can usually get it for you!

Borrow books and get copies of articles, from other libraries, via our free Interloans service.

Look for the 'Interloan' button at the bottom of the search results screen in Library Search | Ketu:

For help, check out the Interloans webpage.

Article Databases

Article databases index and classify articles from scholarly publications, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Different databases cover different ranges of publications, depending on their subject matter and the scope of the database. Databases link through to the Library's e-journals collections for full article access wherever possible.

Journal collections

Journal collections index and classify articles from scholarly publications, primarily peer-reviewed journals. The collection can have a subject specialisation, of just come from the same publisher. They usually have a significant amount of full text content.